Rope Trick--someone please explain

PattonDM

First Post
My question is how large is the "extradimensional space" that players are allowed access.

Theory 1: you climb the rope into the extradimensional space to use as a camp. There is enough room for 8 creatures to sleep/memorize spells etc for 1 hour per level.

Theory 2: you climb the rope into the extradimensional space and wait, hanging on the rope, until danger passes.

I tend to lean towards theory 2 simply because the spell now specifies a weight limit which sounds like many people can be "on the rope" at the same time.

What do you think?

Rope Trick
Transmutation
Level: Sor/Wiz 2
Components: V, S, M
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: Touch
Target: One touched piece of rope from 5 ft. to 30 ft. long
Duration: 1 hour/level (D)
Saving Throw: None
Spell Resistance: No
When this spell is cast upon a piece of rope from 5 to 30 feet long, one end of the rope rises into the air until the whole rope hangs perpendicular to the ground, as if affixed at the upper end. The upper end is, in fact, fastened to an extradimensional space that is outside the multiverse of extradimensional spaces (“planes”). Creatures in the extradimensional space are hidden, beyond the reach of spells (including divinations), unless those spells work across planes. The space holds as many as eight creatures (of any size). Creatures in the space can pull the rope up into the space, making the rope “disappear.” In that case, the rope counts as one of the eight creatures that can fit in the space. The rope can support up to 16,000 pounds. A weight greater than that can pull the rope free.
Spells cannot be cast across the extradimensional interface, nor can area effects cross it. Those in the extradimensional space can see out of it as if a 3-foot-by- 5-foot window were centered on the rope. The window is present on the Material Plane, but it’s invisible, and even creatures that can see the window can’t see through it. Anything inside the extradimensional space drops out when the spell ends. The rope can be climbed by only one person at a time. The rope trick spell enables climbers to reach a normal place if they do not climb all the way to the extradimensional space.
Note: It is hazardous to create an extradimensional space within an existing extradimensional space or to take an extradimensional space into an existing one
 

log in or register to remove this ad

"The rope can be climbed by only one person at a time. "

They ain't just holding on. Like normal, you go inside the space. Where you can chill for hours.

Crazy, this being a second level spell.... creation of a nondimensional space?
 

Why then would I memorize Leomund's Secure Shelter which is smaller, visible, takes 10 minutes to cast and is 4th level?

Strangely enough-- why would I memorize the 7th level Mords Magnificent Mansion?

At 8th level, I can cast my 2nd level spell, and sleep safely for 8 hours with no interruptions.

There has to be something I missed...
 

PattonDM said:
Why then would I memorize Leomund's Secure Shelter which is smaller, visible, takes 10 minutes to cast and is 4th level?

Strangely enough-- why would I memorize the 7th level Mords Magnificent Mansion?

At 8th level, I can cast my 2nd level spell, and sleep safely for 8 hours with no interruptions.

There has to be something I missed...

Try bringing a bag of holding into a rope trick. ;)

-Eraslin
 

would you have to open the bag of holding for the world to end or would you just have to bring it into another extradimensional space?
 

PattonDM said:
would you have to open the bag of holding for the world to end or would you just have to bring it into another extradimensional space?

I can't imagine that it would make a difference whether the bag of holding was opened or not. For instance, if you put a bag of holding inside another bag of holding then the world dies; or something like that. Regardless of whether the one inside is open.

Simply placing one extradimensional space inside another is sufficient to trigger a very bad situation.

-Eraslin
 

If I really wanted to be a rat bastard, I'd point out that the spell makes no mention of there actually being AIR in the extradimensional space. :)

Of course, it doesnt' say that there isn't, either, and I'd certainly assume that there was..unless I was in a bad mood. :)
 

Eraslin said:


I can't imagine that it would make a difference whether the bag of holding was opened or not. For instance, if you put a bag of holding inside another bag of holding then the world dies; or something like that. Regardless of whether the one inside is open.

Simply placing one extradimensional space inside another is sufficient to trigger a very bad situation.

-Eraslin

That's not really true.

If a bag of holding is placed within a portable hole a rift to the Astral Plane is torn in the space: Bag and hole alike are sucked into the void and forever lost. If a portable hole is placed within a bag of holding, it opens a gate to the Astral Plane: The hole, the bag, and any creatures within a 10-foot radius are drawn there, destroying the portable hole and bag of holding in the process.

That's it. There is no general rule on extradimensional spaces within each other.
 

Artoomis, what is your opinion on the Rope Trick spell then?

How do you use it in your game?

My players use it to avoid encounters at night--seems too strong for a 2nd level spell and in comparison to the Leomands/Mords counterparts
 

That's it. There is no general rule on extradimensional spaces within each other.

Although it's fair enough that people think there is, given that the first printing of the 3E PHB had a specific caveat against taking a bag of holding into a Rope Trick (later rescinded)...

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top