Rope Trick--someone please explain

I just looked up Rope Trick in the 3.5 SRD. It contains this note at the end:

Note: It is hazardous to create an extradimensional space within an existing extradimensional space or to take an extradimensional space into an existing one.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Whee! I take, two steps forward (I take two steps back!)...!

From the Main FAQ... but does it still apply?

Will extradimensional items rupture a bag of holding?
The DUNGEON MASTER’s Guide says that a bag of holding
placed within a portable hole tears a rift to the Astral Plane.
Bag and hole alike are then sucked into the void and
forever lost. The DUNGEON MASTER’s Guide also says that
when a portable hole is placed within a bag of holding, it
opens a gate to the Astral Plane. The hole, the bag, and any
creatures within a 10-foot radius are drawn there,
destroying the portable hole and bag of holding in the
process. However, the description for Heward’s handy
haversack makes no mention of any rifts or gates. This
implies that only the combination of a bag of holding and
portable hole forms a rift or gate. Thus, a bag of holding
could be placed inside another bag of holding with no
unusual effects.

It’s a general rule that you can’t mix items containing
nondimensional or extradimensional spaces (things that are
bigger inside than out) with each other or with portable holes.
Such combinations tend to strain the fabric of the cosmos.
Putting one bag of holding within another is just like putting
the bag into a portable hole. Items that function like bags of
holding, such as Heward’s handy haversacks, cause the same
mishaps when mishandled.
Note you can freely go plane hopping with portable holes,
bags of holding, and the like. Spells that produce their own
extradimensional spaces, such as rope trick, pose no danger to
occupants who may be using portable holes, bags of holding, and the like.


-Hyp.
 

although this discussion on bags of holding in a rope trick is interesting, and I appreciate the interest in the post, can we please get back to the main thread...

How would you rule on the size of the extradimensional space listed in Rope Trick in your game?
 

as large as it needed to be...

There is no restriction on size. In fact it is expressly allows 8 creatures of ANY size. The limitation on entrance is the weight, since the only way in, is to climb the rope, and the rope only supports 16,000 pounds. Even then though... the restriction is only for the rope. The space itself can presumable support any amount of weight. You could have 8 great gold wyrms put on collars of shrinking from Arms & Equipment guide to climb the rope, then remove the collars once in the rope trick and relax quite comfortably.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top