Rope Trick - What is the 'hazard'?

Ninja-to said:
Getting closer to a solution here... but if the FAQ in 3.0 said taking a Portable Hole into a Rope Trick was 'ok', then what the hells is 'hazardous' about taking an extra-dimensional space into a Rope Trick?? Doesn't make any sense.

The 3.0 Faq tryed to Faq over a 'sacred cow' of previous editions where doing this sort of thing would rip holes in the multiverse. Example: A porta-hole in a porta-hole wisked the bag away to the astral plane. Anything else extra dimensional into a porta-hole or vice versa destroyed the items and everything within 10 feet went to another plane[DM's whim].

If you are playing an RPGA game where the DMs have to be slaves to wotc's PHB selling whims and rules changes, then there is nothing in the rules to really harm you. But if your DM is not afraid of the NotC Goons, then treat it like crossing the proton streams in Ghostbusters. An all around Bad Idea (tm) that might save the world once.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Here is the official response:

There is no specific bad effects. This is a DM's call where if the DM wishes to not allow things like bags in the rope trick to limit rope trick then it gives them a way to say "if you do you might cause a rift".

So it's all just up to the DM in this case.

Thanks.


Steve
Customer Service Department
Wizards of the Coast
1-800-324-6496
*Please quote this e-mail in any reply.*
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top