Rules question about AoO and haste

Grog

First Post
The rules say you suffer an AoO for leaving a threatened area. But, if all you do in the round is move, the first 5' area does not count as threatened. My question is, if someone is hasted, could he use his partial action to attack someone, then use his regular action to leave the threatened area without provoking an AoO? Moving wouldn't be the only thing he did during the round, after all.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Depends. You could attack on your partial action, then take a 5' step out of the threatened area. You never take an AoO for making a 5' step. Chances are that you're out of danger, and can move on your full action.

-Fletch!
 

Not that you only have one 5-ft step per round, and only if you haven't moved any other way (you could use your MEA to stand up from prone position, or you could draw you weapon, but if you change the square you're in with a MEA, you won't get a 5-ft step in that turn. And the partial action is still within your turn.)
 

from the SRD:
If a combatant moves through (not simply into) or
out of a threatened area, a combatant usually provokes an attack
of opportunity.

If all a combatant does is take a normal move or
a double move (not a run), the space that the combatant started
out in is not considered threatened.

If a combatant's entire move for the round is 5
feet the 5 foot move does not provoke an attack of opportunity.
It is my understanding that the middle bit applies to actions, not to rounds. So you could attack and then use your hasted action to safely move away. That partial action (used to move) is a separate action. If all you do is move for that particular action, then the initial space is not considered threatened (again, for that action).

With regards to 5ft steps, however, it says "move for the round" and so you cannot get a safe 5ft step in the same round that you move further, hasted or no.
 

If one bothers to check out the PHB, instead of just the SRD, one finds that:

If all you do is move (not run) during your turn, the space that you start in is not considered threatened

(emphasis mine)
 
Last edited:

Henrix said:
If one bothers to check out the PHB, instead of just the SRD,
If one bothers to sit in one's cubicle reading the PHB instead of the SRD, then one will find himself looking for a new job.


Anyway, the usage of the word "turn" rather than "round" rather supports my position does it not?
 


Ki Ryn said:
Anyway, the usage of the word "turn" rather than "round" rather supports my position does it not?

No, it doesn't. You're confusing "turn" with "action." A turn is your chance to take actions during a round. A hasted individual still only gets one turn, though it can involve several actions.
 

Ki Ryn said:
It is my understanding that the middle bit applies to actions, not to rounds. So you could attack and then use your hasted action to safely move away. That partial action (used to move) is a separate action....

I would prefer a ruling exactly as you describe.

However, the Sage has ruled very explicitly, and very consistently, just the opposite. His position is that wherever the rules say "per turn" or "per round" it means once-per-round, and that such rules cannot be sidestepped via haste. Make of that what you will.
 

Remove ads

Top