Savage Species Question

gfunk

First Post
I was just looking at the free tidbit on the Wizards' site on their new Savage Species book. Observing the minotaur's level progression, I noticed this:

"Large Size: At 6th level, a minotaur grows to Large size and its natural reach extends to 10 feet. It incurs the usual penalties for Large creatures."

Does anybody know if this means you *really* become large (e.g. all relevant stat boosts/penalites) or do you just become large in the dragon disciple sense (i.e. 10 ft reach, -1 AC, -1 attacks)?

Thanks!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Since at 6th level you're considered to be the same ECL as a regular minotaur out of the MM, and they really are Large, I'd say, yes, you really are Large. Up until 6th level, you're a widdle bayby minotaur, but when you hit 6th you're all growed up. At least, that's how I understand it.

PS. Maybe this should go in the Rules forum?
 

How would it be a ballanced system if you received both monster advancement and the character class advancement? Large size means that you get the modifications on page 5 of the Monster Manual, not the size advencement for monsters on Pages 13 & 14.
 

No, I don't think you do. If you give the Minotaur all of the stat adjustments from increasing in size, by the end of its ECL, it'll be more powerful than the MM Minotaur. By NOT increasing the stats for a large creature, it's STR come out +8, which is exactly how the MM Minotaur is.


Heh... A young Minotaur is a Minitaur.. :D

I simply can't WAIT for this book to finally ship. I've been very impatient since I first heard about "Tooth & Claw"...


Chris
 

Remove ads

Top