Savages Species Insectile # of attacks

sarek

First Post
Can I equip my insectile creature with more then 2 weapons (6 since is has 4 more arms) and attack with them all? (P. 122)

The text says : Despite having six arms, insectiles creatures gain no additional attacks.

Does this mean that I can't use a weapon in each arms or this mean that it doesn't gain any natural attack?

I'm new here, so if I should include more specific details next time just tell me ;)

Thanks!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Short: No, you can't do that.

Longer: You have two options -- basically, to fight with your natural weapons or with actual weapons. If you choose to fight with his arms, then the number of attacks is based on the number of arms. If you choose to fight with weapons, the number of attacks is based on BAB. You can't mix them.

Welcome to the boards!

And it's usually better to give too much information than too little. Like, you could mention the specific creature/combination you're trying to use. Even if it's not necesary, it's helpful.
 

Thanks for the answer. Ok I'll clarify my question a bit since I'm still confused about something. The NPC will be an elf with the insectile template. Can it uses 6 weapons providing he is using the Multiweapon fighting feat (and improved Multiweapon fightning feat for less penalty)? I'm confused because of the sentence :
"Despite having six arms, insectiles creatures gain no additional attacks."

You said no but I wanted to be sure you know what I was trying to say ;)
 

I'd say, "Yes, 'cause it's cool." As a matter of fact, I've used almost that exact same thing; an arachnoid (from Underdark) human fighter 7. He had about...hmmm...2 attacks with the main hand, 2 with his other hand, and 4 with his other hands, and then another one with the Rapid Strike feat. That's a lot of ownage in a full attack! I had to tell the player how to defeat it it, which kinda wasn't so good, but she was only 12 so it's all right.

EDIT: I use quite different TWF/MWF/Ambidexterity rules. Ask if by any chance you want to know.
 

sarek said:
Thanks for the answer. Ok I'll clarify my question a bit since I'm still confused about something. The NPC will be an elf with the insectile template. Can it uses 6 weapons providing he is using the Multiweapon fighting feat (and improved Multiweapon fightning feat for less penalty)? I'm confused because of the sentence :
"Despite having six arms, insectiles creatures gain no additional attacks."

You said no but I wanted to be sure you know what I was trying to say ;)
RAW, no. JQM points out that you can houserule otherwise, but the rules don't allow for it. That probably makes the template more powerful than the LA would allow for, too. If you houserule that you get additional attacks, up the LA by one or two.
 

Yeah that's what I thought because the LA was too low to get that many attacks. My player took the Dervish class (Complete Warrior) because it's cool. But after we read again the last ability (Dance of death if I remember) which says something like you double your attacks we wanted to be sure he couldn't use more then 2 weapons. (This player is a RP'er so he doesn't care too much about the power level of this character).

Thanks for your answers!
 

Remove ads

Top