Save end effects at the end of the turn

Hermes1705

First Post
When a save end effect is applied at the end of player's turn do they get the chance to roll save for those effects on the same round?

For exemple:

A zone applies immobilization if the player ends his turn inside it.

Player A ends his turn inside the given zone. He is now immobilized.


In my opnion saving from effects is the last part of player's action, so only when he finishes saving from effects he is done. If the given effect applies only at the end of his turn then it is applied after he done saving.

Am i correct in this assumption?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

That's how I'd read it... the PC is immobilized for a minimum of one round (his next) unless he gets a bonus SAVE from some other power or feat.
 

Very good question.

I'd say he doesn't get a save because he hasn't yet ended his turn until saves are done. Once they are done, he's now ended his turn, and this ability applies at that time.
 

Very good question.

I'd say he doesn't get a save because he hasn't yet ended his turn until saves are done. Once they are done, he's now ended his turn, and this ability applies at that time.

this. rolling saves is still part of your turn. after rolling saves, your turn ends and you suffer the effect.
 

Maybe phases of turns should be defined in the same way lines of code were labelled in early versions of the computer language Basic.

10 If Warden use Font of Life feature
20 Take ongoing damage
30 Use actions (minor, move, standard, AP-granted)
40 Save against dying / conditions
50 End conditions due to expire at end of turn
60 Impose new conditions due to begin at end of turn

Then, if the new Psionic Munchkinblade* class is created with a feature that allows one to make obscene gestures at the Warden and his Font of Lameness before making saves, WotC just inserts that into the sequence by declaring it to occur at phase 35.

*No Munchkinblades were injured in the crafting of this sentence, and if there were, I was in the other room at the time, donating money to relief efforts.
 

Hmm... at the start of your turn, you (the player/PC) may resolve anything that happens "at the start of your turn" in whatever order you wish.

For example, if you have resist 5 all until start of your next turn, and you're taking ongoing damage 5 (save ends), when your next turn rolls around, you can choose to take the ongoing damage first when it will be reduced to 0 by the resist, and then choose for the resist to end.

I would imagine the same thing would apply to things that last until the end of your turn: you could choose to be affected by the zone at the end of your turn first, and then you could choose to rolls your saves for (save ends) effects.

(Note: I can't find this rule in the DDI Compendium, but I'm 90% sure it's in the PH.)
 

Maybe phases of turns should be defined in the same way lines of code were labelled in early versions of the computer language Basic.

They have this:

10 Start of your turn effects in any order you want
20 Middle of your turn effects in any order you want
30 End of your turn effects in any order you want

If you get tagged with an effect on your turn that a save can end, you get to make a save at the end of your turn, as per usual.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top