Saving throw bonuses and multiple effects that a single save can end

Volsung

Explorer
Let's say I have a character with the Focused Mind feat (PHB3: +4 feat bonus to saving throws against dazing effects and stunning effects).

Next let's say the character gets the following condition imposed on him: target is dazed and weakened (save ends both).

Would I get to apply the +4 bonus when making the saving throw?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Let's say I have a character with the Focused Mind feat (PHB3: +4 feat bonus to saving throws against dazing effects and stunning effects).

Next let's say the character gets the following condition imposed on him: target is dazed and weakened (save ends both).

Would I get to apply the +4 bonus when making the saving throw?

Absolutely.
 

If it were a dwarf with that feat, against an ongoing poison and dazed (save ends), would he get +9 to the save? +5 from race, +4 from feat?
 


If it were a dwarf with that feat, against an ongoing poison and dazed (save ends), would he get +9 to the save? +5 from race, +4 from feat?
Yes, because the source of the bonuses is different.

It would be "+5 racial bonus, +4 feat bonus".

The bolded words are keywords for bonus source; bonuses with the same source don't stack.

So, if my fighter gets a +2 power bonus to attack against a target from using "Villain's Menace", and a +2 power bonus to attack from using "Settling the Score" against the same target ...

He gets a +2 bonus, total, because the two power bonuses don't stack.

(This is especially important if the player playing your Leader doesn't think about these things, and just keeps telling you "don't forget the +2 from such-and-such"...)
 


Ah, really?
Isn't this at odds with the rule for resistances? For resistances you need to have resistance to both damage types to be able to apply it. Why is it the other way around for save bonuses?

Where is this described?

And this is where my uncertainty stems from.

Of course, immunities work the opposite way. And neither resistance nor immunity is a bonus (though you could view resistance as a penalty).

Bonuses to attack and damage rolls that apply to powers with a specific keyword would still apply it a power had multiple keywords. But that's keywords.

So I'm inclined to think that resistance is an exception, since it's the only case in which it's been spelled out to work like that. But I figured there's a good chance I missed something related to saving throw bonuses.
 

Ah, really?
Isn't this at odds with the rule for resistances? For resistances you need to have resistance to both damage types to be able to apply it. Why is it the other way around for save bonuses?

Where is this described?

THINGS THAT ARE UNRELATED DO NOT RELATE TO EACH OTHER


The mechanics are in no way related. In other news, the rules for how to use a ritual also doesn't work the same way as the rules for making ability checks.

THIS IS NOT A PROBLEM
 

THINGS THAT ARE UNRELATED DO NOT RELATE TO EACH OTHER


The mechanics are in no way related. In other news, the rules for how to use a ritual also doesn't work the same way as the rules for making ability checks.

THIS IS NOT A PROBLEM
The all caps makes this sound fairly obnoxious, honestly. No need to shout.

If this is somehow unclear, shoot me a PM.
 
Last edited:


Remove ads

Top