Whats everyone take on the following scenario:
PC's are trapped in a room. Suddenly, gas gets vented into the room. The gas forces a save or become unconcious. If the PC makes the save, do they have to make a save again the next round? I assume making the save once doesn't grant some kind of immunity to the gas, but I suppose the PC could hold their breath for a while, to avoid having to make a save again.
I got reminded of a situation years ago, when I was a young lad, that I decided to DM a bit for my group. The guy who was the usual DM would always become a total rules lawyer / control freak when he was a player (actually, he was the same when he was a DM ha!). Anyway, the group got into the above situation, and the regular DM's character made his save against the gas. By making the save he seemed to then imply that he was now not able to be affected by the gas. I told him he has to make a saving throw each round (he actually never said his character was "holding his breath"), and he got really angry and irritated, and seemed to make comments to the effect that this was "bad DMing"...
I dunno, perhaps I should have just assumed the character would hold his breath after the first successful saving throw? Even then though, he would be forced to keep saving every couple of minutes...
Am I right, or not? Whats everyone think? Or better yet, how do the rules specify such a situation?
PC's are trapped in a room. Suddenly, gas gets vented into the room. The gas forces a save or become unconcious. If the PC makes the save, do they have to make a save again the next round? I assume making the save once doesn't grant some kind of immunity to the gas, but I suppose the PC could hold their breath for a while, to avoid having to make a save again.
I got reminded of a situation years ago, when I was a young lad, that I decided to DM a bit for my group. The guy who was the usual DM would always become a total rules lawyer / control freak when he was a player (actually, he was the same when he was a DM ha!). Anyway, the group got into the above situation, and the regular DM's character made his save against the gas. By making the save he seemed to then imply that he was now not able to be affected by the gas. I told him he has to make a saving throw each round (he actually never said his character was "holding his breath"), and he got really angry and irritated, and seemed to make comments to the effect that this was "bad DMing"...
I dunno, perhaps I should have just assumed the character would hold his breath after the first successful saving throw? Even then though, he would be forced to keep saving every couple of minutes...
Am I right, or not? Whats everyone think? Or better yet, how do the rules specify such a situation?