Scroll Consumption

Kraedin

First Post
If a spell caster fails the caster level check when attempting to use a scroll at a higher caster level than his own, but makes the Wisdom check to avoid a mishap, is the spell consumed? Why? (Rules reference, Sage Advice quote, designer quote, etc.)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I would say that common sense would dictate that the scroll is consumued, but now that I think of it, would it?. You already have the risk of running a mishap (which will hurt).

I scanned the SRD

If the user meets all the requirements noted above, and her caster level is at least equal to the spell’s caster level, she can automatically activate the spell without a check. If she meets all three requirements but her own caster level is lower than the scroll spell’s caster level, then she has to make a caster level check (DC = scroll’s caster level + 1) to cast the spell successfully. If she fails, she must make a Wisdom check (DC 5) to avoid a mishap (see Scroll Mishaps, below). A natural roll of 1 always fails, whatever the modifiers.

..but it makes no mention of whether or not the scroll is consumed.

Anyone else?
 


Going beyond the rules . . . think about what a scroll is. A scroll stores magical energy. Since a mishap involves the release of that magical energy, albeit in an unintended way, it stands to reason that the scroll would no longer contain any power.
 


DarkJester said:
But if he passed the wisdom check and didn't suffer a mishap, would he still lose the scroll?

I think so. He's reading the scroll and the energy is going to be released. If he succeeds on the caster level check, he controls the energy and the spell functions correctl. If he fails that but makes the wisdom check the spell just fails and is lost. If he also fails the wisdom check bad things happen. Least, that's my take on it.
 

Ahh, that explanation works, guess something just wasn't clicking for a second. Still, you think they would actually state it in the books.
 

DarkJester said:
Ahh, that explanation works, guess something just wasn't clicking for a second. Still, you think they would actually state it in the books.

Well, you'd think they would state it either way.
 

Crothian said:


I think so. He's reading the scroll and the energy is going to be released. If he succeeds on the caster level check, he controls the energy and the spell functions correctl. If he fails that but makes the wisdom check the spell just fails and is lost. If he also fails the wisdom check bad things happen. Least, that's my take on it.

Just to play devil's advocate here, there is another way to look at it.

If they fail the caster level check, they can't control the spell. The wisdom check is to determine if they realize this before releasing the magic.

Fail the wisdom check, the spell is consumed and something bad happens.

Succeed on the wisdom check, the caster realizes this isn't working before releasing the magic. They back down and the magic is never released. The scroll is still intact and they can try again.

-----

I don't think it is spelled out anywhere how to handle this. Personally, I would just make it consistent with Use Magic Device skill. If someone using UMD with a wand fails to get a total of 20 but does get a total of more than 10, does it use a charge in the wand? UMD can also used on scrolls.

Either way can work, just make it consistent.
 

bret said:


Succeed on the wisdom check, the caster realizes this isn't working before releasing the magic. They back down and the magic is never released. The scroll is still intact and they can try again.

Or, another way of saying pretty much the same thing would be that they just can't successfully activate the scroll no matter how hard they try. The spellcaster doesn't necessarily have to "realize" anything. They are just wise enough to avoid forcing the magic to be released when it is beyond their ability to control.

I see no reason why the scroll would be wasted in such an attempt.
 

Remove ads

Top