Saeviomagy
Adventurer
So in otherwords "if we make crap up, no you can't use them".Scharlata said:Hi!
"Undead, Corrupt, Location, Soul, Demon, Devil, Fiend, Drug, Disease" all appear for the first time in the Book of Vile Darkness.
Supporting the "no, you must be of the type, have contracted the correct disease, must be under the influence of the correct drug" to cast the spell on a scroll fraction here.
From the FAQ (3.0) to the BoVD, Spell Descriptions (p. 83): While most spells require all the material components listed for them, the demon, devil, fiend, and undead components from the BoVD are special. If more than one of these are listed, the caster need satisfy only one of them.
The Book of Vile Darkness has rules for the "Corruption" cost for a character who scribes such spells on scrolls or brews potion from, or crafts wands with them. The creator doesn't pay the price. The consumer/reader/user of the magic item must pay the ability damage. Addition from the FAQ (3.0): Anyone using corrupt spells has to pay the cost, even if normally immune to ability damage, ability drain, or energy drain.
If we extrapolate the requirements to pay the cost as consumer/reader/user of a magic item, we could conjecture the same for the requirements to be an undead/demon/devil etc.
Sorry - there's no requirement on a scroll that the material components be satisfied by the caster, EXCEPT in the special case of corrupt items.
Hence - no probs. Use it just like any other scroll.