Shapechange and full attacks

Pielorinho

Iron Fist of Pelor
I am fighting a bunch of mooks, and so I shapechange into a hydra. Multiple attack goodness! Next round, I'm busily munching on the mooks nearby, but I notice a caster off in the distance, so after I've made all my bite attacks, I use a free action to shapeshift into a squid.

What happens next? How many more attacks can I make?

By the rules, it seems to me that I can make two full attacks--but that seems excessive (and leads to some silliness: can I be a red dragon and take a full round of attacks, then shift into a green dragon and make all new attacks?) By my intuition, you gotta stick with one creature's attack routine,a nd if you switch mid-routine, that's generally a bad idea. But I don't know what should occur.

Daniel
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Pielorinho said:
Next round, I'm busily munching on the mooks nearby, but I notice a caster off in the distance, so after I've made all my bite attacks, I use a free action to shapeshift into a squid.

What happens next? How many more attacks can I make?

By the rules, it seems to me that I can make two full attacks...

No.

You can change form once each round as a free action. The change takes place either immediately before your regular action or immediately after it, but not during the action.

So if you've started attacking already, then you can only shapechange 'immediately after your regular action'... that is, at the end of your turn. So you can't really do anything once you change into a squid.

-Hyp.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top