Shapechange question - semiurgent

youspoonybard said:
The Tarrasque is a unique creature, and as such cannot be Shapechanged into.
This is notoriously ambiguous, though. The description for the tarrasque does not require as a matter of course that only one exist. However, as I'd forgotten (!), the errata wouldn't allow it anyway for a sub-48th-level caster.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:
Why on earth not?

They speak Undercommon, so they've got verbal covered.

Their Monster Manual entry mentions hands, and - in 3E, at least, though I can't speak for the 3.5 flavour text - even describes their fingers.

Voice plus fingers covers all the components, right?

-Hyp.

In 3.5, the flavor text indicates they have the digits, but the creature description tends to lead to the conclusion that they do not possess the digits necessary for spellcasting. Regardless, it is an abuse that was unintended. It is up to the DM until something official comes down.

They removed 3.0 haste for a reason ... it was abusive regardless of the spell level. If they thought they could introduce the effect at another level in a balanced fashion, they'd have done so. You don't remove a very popular aspect of a class unless you must. Allowing someone to access it via shapechange goes against the spirit of the changes. They really need to errata the choker to give it permanent 3.5 haste instead of permanent 3.0 haste. Either that, or change it to a spell-like ability that can be activated as a free action by the choker.

As for favorite shapes, epic spellcasters might like solars, though this could be out of character for your druid.

By the way: I have never seen a druid / loremaster. You get full points for that combination. It sounds like a fun PC, even though it is not min-maxed for druid power.
 


So I shapechange into a Dragon. I've got staves, wands, cloaks, rings and various other things? What do I get to keep using in the new form? I would say not much, I just have a hard time imagining a dragon wearing either a human sized or a dragon sized cloak of resistance +5. Once it gets rid of your saving throw gear you are now one very vulnerable wizard/sorc/druid. I still like the idea of Shapechange, but the new 3.5 version makes it a lot less desirable.
 


Hand of Vecna said:
Get a Wildling Clasp, they let you keep the cloaks & such.

With Wildshape, not with Shapechange, though, right? (Away from my MotW right now.)

A cloak should be fine, though.

SIZE AND MAGIC ITEMS
When an article of magic clothing or jewelry is discovered, most of the time size shouldn’t be an issue. Many magic garments are made to be easily adjustable, or they adjust themselves magically to the wearer. Size should not keep characters of various kinds from using magic items.


and

When the change occurs, your equipment, if any, either remains worn or held by the new form (if it is capable of wearing or holding the item), or melds into the new form and becomes nonfunctional.

I can't see anything to stop a dragon wearing a dragon-sized cloak...?

-Hyp.
 


Hypersmurf said:
With Wildshape, not with Shapechange, though, right? (Away from my MotW right now.)

A cloak should be fine, though.

SIZE AND MAGIC ITEMS
When an article of magic clothing or jewelry is discovered, most of the time size shouldn’t be an issue. Many magic garments are made to be easily adjustable, or they adjust themselves magically to the wearer. Size should not keep characters of various kinds from using magic items.


and

When the change occurs, your equipment, if any, either remains worn or held by the new form (if it is capable of wearing or holding the item), or melds into the new form and becomes nonfunctional.

I can't see anything to stop a dragon wearing a dragon-sized cloak...?

-Hyp.

I guess they would be able to wear the cloak, but it does seem odd. Can anyone give me some examples of items you would NOT be able to use when shapechanged? Staves? Rings?
 


ruleslawyer said:
This is notoriously ambiguous, though. The description for the tarrasque does not require as a matter of course that only one exist. However, as I'd forgotten (!), the errata wouldn't allow it anyway for a sub-48th-level caster.

Or a 48th+ level caster either, given that the hit die cap is 25 for the errattaed spell. :)
 

Remove ads

Top