Share Spell

Ricochet

Explorer
A quick question: If a familiar is within five feet of its master, and the master cast Cure Light Wounds on himself, could/would the spell affect both caster and familiar, as in the Share Spell ability?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

By the wording in the PHB, yes.

But then Tome and Blood came out, making up stupid, stupid, stupid new rules about Share Spells.

For some reason, Tome and Blood decrees that you must designate either yourself or the familiar as the target of the spell, and only any spillover curing goes to the other.

Example: You have lost 5 hit points and your familiar has lost 2.

If you roll a 3 on the CLW and designated yourself as the target, you gain 3 hit points, your familiar gains none.

If you roll a 3 on the CLW and designated your familiar as the target, he gains 2 hit points, putting him back to maximum, leaving 1 point "left over". This point goes to you, so you're only down 4.

Stupid, stupid rule.

-Hyp.
 


Seeing that we don't use Tome & Blood, I will use the core rules.

The Tome and Blood rules are just weird.

"Because the master and familiar both have their own ability scores", you can't Share a Bull's Strength, for example.

But you can Share, say, Divine Favor and both get the bonuses to attack and damage rolls.

"Because they have their own ability scores"? What the hell is that?

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top