Shield other and DR

Crothian

First Post
If the subject of the spell has DR, would you split the damage first and then apply the DR, or apply the DR first and then split the remainder damage?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Crothian said:
If the subject of the spell has DR, would you split the damage first and then apply the DR, or apply the DR first and then split the remainder damage?
Well, the creature doesn't take the damage until after it's been reduced by the DR.
 

Caliban said:
Well, the creature doesn't take the damage until after it's been reduced by the DR.

I would agree with Caliban on the outset. Shield Other splits the damage done to the target creature to the caster. DR applies before damage is taken.

However, reading the spell it makes no mention of damage done to the subject, but rather sources of damage. It says that half damage from all sources of hit point of damage are taken by the subject and the rest is given to the caster. This would imply that DR only applies to the subject of the spell since it discusses SOURCES of damage as opposed to damage received.
 



The spell description says "some of its wounds are transferred to you." If the subject has DR, they are not wounded by the amount of the DR. Therefore, I think you apply the DR first, then divide the actual damage between the subject and the caster.
 

Peronally, I'd agree with MichaelH. OTOH, I wouldn't apply the SPELLCASTER'S DR to the damage transferred ... it's already gone through the DR-reduction "Step" ...
 



Darklone said:
I wouldn't count the casters DR at all.

Yeah, I'd definitely run it the same way. And house rule it that way if I decided that the RAW allowed the caster's DR to apply :)

Just like I wouldn't let anything protect against the backlash damage of a Vicious weapon.

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top