Silly question about spellcasting advancement

Gnome

First Post
Okay, this is a case where I'm pretty sure I know how something is supposed to work, but I don't know if it's ever explicitly mentioned anywhere in the rules.

Suppose I start-off in a spellcasting class (say 6 levels of Cleric), and then take levels in a prestige class that advances my spellcasting, and then take another level of cleric. Presumably my spellcasting would improve normally, in this case. However, is there anything in the rules to say this happens as opposed to getting the spells of a 7th-level cleric (since the cleric class lists specific spellcasting benefits for each level as opposed to +1 to existing spellcasing class)?
 

log in or register to remove this ad




Quoted from the SRD eldricht knight

From 2nd level on, when a new eldritch knight level is gained, the character gains new spells per day as if she had also gained a level in whatever arcane spellcasting class she belonged to before she added the prestige class. She does not, however, gain any other benefit a character of that class would have gained. This essentially means that she adds the level of eldritch knight to the level of whatever other arcane spellcasting class the character has, then determines spells per day and caster level accordingly.

The bold text indicates that the +1 spell caster is added to whatever levels you have regardless of if you get them before or after the class. So the base level (From the class) is used then the +1 spell casting levels are added.

Later
 

Remove ads

Top