Simple (I hope) ? about Prot From Evil

Rel

Liquid Awesome
Evil Bad Guy casts Blade Barrier on the party Cleric who currently has Protection from Evil going. Does the +2 Saving Throw Bonuse vs. Evil take effect?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I'm going to say "no". As you know, the language is that the AC/save bonus applies "against attacks made by evil creatures". That looks to me like combat melee/ranged attacks only, not spells.

It's fairly murky. To answer this, I went back to the AD&D 1st Ed. PHB (as I do when spell descriptions have become ambiguous) -- the language there tips towards attacks-only, referring to "any saving throws caused by such attacks", clearly indicating things like ghoul paralysis and vampire energy draining, not spells.
 

Actually according to the SRD it reads like this:

"First, the subject gains a +2 deflection bonus to AC and a +2 resistance bonus on saves. Both these bonuses apply against attacks made or effects created by evil creatures."

So I would say yes, you do get the saving throw bonus. Remember that it does not stack with other resistance bonuses though.
 

Since I've got two conflicting opinions, I'm gonna give this a bump.

I'll note that your SRD reference is the 3.5 SRD, Otterscrubber.
 

dcollins said:
I'm going to say "no". As you know, the language is that the AC/save bonus applies "against attacks made by evil creatures". That looks to me like combat melee/ranged attacks only, not spells.
A damaging spell is a type of attack, even in 3.0. Otherwise casting a fireball wouldn't drop your invisibility spell.
 

Above, Otterscrubber has quoted from the 3.5 SRD -- in 3.5 the language has been changed to include non-attack effects. The 3.0 rules do not have the "or effects" line -- and note that this thread is 3.0-specific.

I also disagree with Caliban that attacks include spells in the general case. The invisibility spell has special language which makes spells count as attacks, for consideration of that spell only. Hence my analysis still comes up with an answer of "no":

The spell ends if the subject attacks any creature. For purposes of this spell, an "attack" includes any spell targeting a foe or whose area or effect includes a foe. (PHB, invisibility)
 
Last edited:

dcollins said:
However, I disagree with Caliban that attacks include spells in the general case. The invisibility spell has special language which makes spells count as attacks, for consideration of that spell only.
And I'll disagree right back. Attacking someone can be with a melee attack, ranged attack, or a spell. Basically any hostile action that affects you. Since Prot. Evil doesn't specify what kind of attack it protects against, it would seem to protect against any attack.

The 3.5 wording certainly makes it clear.
 

"For purposes of this spell" in invisibility is also very clear.

Spells do not have the word "attack" in them. They do not use the attack action. They do not qualify under the glossary definition of "attack". Etc.
 
Last edited:

um guys.... blade barrier is a save not an attack.

Prot from evil: +2 to saves against spells cast by evil creatures.

Yes you get the bonus... I don't get where this attack bonus debate is coming from.
 

Stalker0 said:
um guys.... blade barrier is a save not an attack.
Prot from evil: +2 to saves against spells cast by evil creatures.
Yes you get the bonus... I don't get where this attack bonus debate is coming from.

One more time: Note the icon at the top that says this thread is 3.0-specific. The 3.0 protection from evil does not say "+2 to saves against spells cast by evil creatures". That's in 3.5 only.
 

Remove ads

Top