Some questions about flaming sphere

Nikosandros

Golden Procrastinator
I guess that they apply to other conjurations as well, but those issues arose last session with flaming sphere.

1) Can the sphere move vertically?

I guess that it can move only if a character could move without a skill check, so it can go up a slope, but not climb or balance on a narrow plank.

2) Is LOS required to all the squares that you move the sphere through? What about LOE?

3) Can you make the sphere attack a square that you don't have LOS? LOE?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I guess that they apply to other conjurations as well, but those issues arose last session with flaming sphere.

1) Can the sphere move vertically?

I guess that it can move only if a character could move without a skill check, so it can go up a slope, but not climb or balance on a narrow plank.

This has come up a number of times in my game (I'm the DM). I'm not sure if there is an official ruling on this (haven't seen one) but I ruled in my campaign that you can move the sphere in any direction, but it has to be on a flat(ish) surface at the end of the move.

So, the sphere can climb a tree and end on a branch if you want, but it can't climb a column and then stick to the cieling.

2) Is LOS required to all the squares that you move the sphere through? What about LOE?

3) Can you make the sphere attack a square that you don't have LOS? LOE?

I think you only need LOS, but I'm not sure.
 

I guess that they apply to other conjurations as well, but those issues arose last session with flaming sphere.

1) Can the sphere move vertically?

Technically the sphere can occupy any unoccupied square in range, so it could move vertically and float there. It's just a ball of flame, after all. (At least, I haven't found anything to limit it to ground only. Might be worth sending a question to Customer Service.)
 

Might be worth sending a question to Customer Service.)

Last time this was hashed out with Customer Service, we got several no's, several yes's, and a couple "Ask your DM."

By absolute RAW, there is nothing limiting it to the ground. There is also nothing explicitly stating that it can fly.

By flavor text, the flaming sphere "rolls," which can either refer to "rotates and translates" or "a vortex of flames." Another possibility is that it rolls like thunder.

My personal rulings have been akin to Verision's own. However, if we ever have aerial combat I might have to change it. Having a useless daily is not fun.
 

Hmmm, I might limit it to what the wizard can do. If it needs to jump up, the wizard rolls an athletics check. If it needs to balance, the wizard rolls an acrobatics check. If the wizard is flying, then his flaming sphere can fly.
 

Our DM ruled that it could move vertically along a surface, but needed to be supported where it ended it's movement. There's not any special RAW support for that, but did keep the power from being useless in the situation at the time, without opening it up to abuse.
 

Bah. Bah!

It's a magic ball of fire that is under the wizard's control! Of course it can fly! (A better word may be 'float') The wizard simply points-or even just thinks- and the sphere obeys. It's magic. Oooh...

Later
Gruns
 

It's a magic ball of fire that is under the wizard's control! Of course it can fly! (A better word may be 'float') The wizard simply points-or even just thinks- and the sphere obeys. It's magic. Oooh...
The D&D rules certainly don't support the idea that since it's magic, it can do anything... :erm:

If the sphere is allowed to fly, than it can be placed on the square over an enemy, easily circumventing the restriction about not being able to go through a enemy square.
 

What about the LOS/LOE issue?

I'm inclined to rule that you need LOE to all the squares that you move the sphere through, but not LOS.

When attacking with it, you don't need LOE to the target square (of course there needs to be LOE between the sphere and the target). If you don't have LOS to the target square, the target has total concealment for the purpose of the attack.

Thoughts?
 

Our DM ruled that it could move vertically along a surface, but needed to be supported where it ended it's movement.
What happens if you create the sphere over a hole?

1) You attack with it and then the sphere floats down.

2) The sphere floats down immediately.

3) The placement is illegal.
 

Remove ads

Top