Sorcerers, Metamagic, and (3.0) Haste

calypso15

Explorer
If a sorcerer that is affected by (3.0) haste casts a spell using metamagic, does he still get his partial action from haste? Assume that the spell normally takes 1 action to cast.

Calypso
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yes. Note that the metamagic only turns the casting into a full-round action, it doesn't change the casting time to 1 round. That means that the casting is still finished on your own turn - you just don't get a move along with it (other than the 5' step, that is).
 

What Staffan said. It's a common error to assume that a full-round action takes 1 round to complete, but that is not always the case, and not so in this case.
 


When it comes to true one round spells, like Summon Monster, Tome and Blood also introduced a rule that you could use your Haste Partial to complete the casting within your own turn.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top