Spare the rod and spoil the wand

0-hr

Starship Cartographer
If I'm a Warlock with a Wand+3 in one hand and a Rod of Corruption +1 in the other, can I use the Wand as my implement for all of my abiltieis (to get the bigger bonus), but then use the Corruption power when my pact boon triggers?


For referece, the rod is:
Property: Whenever your pact boon is triggered, instead of taking its normal benefit you can transfer your Warlock's Curse to each enemy within 5 squares to each enemy within 5 squares of the original target.


Is just holding that rod in my offhand enough to let me use the power when the opportunity arises, or do I need to be actively using it as my main implement.
 

log in or register to remove this ad



DracoSuave is correct. I use 2 rods with properites for this exact reason.

I believe it is located in the PH FAQ.

My books are unavailable at the moment plus I'm feeling kind of lazy. ;)
 

It's indeed in the FAQ at Answer

"3. If you wield a light shield, you can also hold an item as well, although you can’t attack with it. What if that item is an implement? Can you apply its implement bonus to your powers?

No. Using an implement to gain its bonuses is considered attacking with that implement. If you wield a light shield and hold an implement in the same hand, you would not get the implement enhancement bonus to your powers, but you would still benefit from any property that the implement has."

You still benefit from any property that the implement has even if you're not attacking with it and are just holding it.
 

I there any downside to using, say, a Quickcurse rod in one hand (for the cursing) and a Wand +3 in the other (as the implement for your powers)?

Seems a little weird if you could get the benefits of both in the same round (albeit with different actions).



EDIT: That also would lead to some weirdness (or awesomeness?) if you had a Rod of Reaving (1 pt when creature cursed) in one hand an a Rod of Corruption (spread curse when dies) in the other vs a field full of minions...
 
Last edited:

I there any downside to using, say, a Quickcurse rod in one hand (for the cursing) and a Wand +3 in the other (as the implement for your powers)?

Seems a little weird if you could get the benefits of both in the same round (albeit with different actions).

The downside would be that your hands are full, meaning you have no weapons, no shields, etc. It's not so much a downside as simply, that is what you have now. There is a possibility that another 2 implements combined might be a better option.

Heck, if you have the Dex to meet the prereq for it, you can even take the feat to add the secondary implement's enhancement bonus to your damage.
 

Thanks. I also found another thread that answers the question.

The FAQ says this:
19. Can a Warlock benefit from holding two rods?

Yes, a warlock can gain the properties from two rods but he still can only use one to make an attack.
 

Another way to think about it is...What if I had two weapons in my hand and I attacked with only my primary, do the properties of the second weapon apply? Most cases I cant see why not, and I cant see why two implements would be any different.
 

Yes they do apply, unless that property is 'When you attack with this wand....' simply because you aren't attacking with that wand.

But then, if you have any problem, just take the Dual Wielding feat for implements and have fun with it anyways.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top