spell casters

Gregor

First Post
Hey there.

Im new to the boards (lurked for a while) and D&D so I hope this is not THAT dumb of a question.

Alright here goes: Are rangers considered to be spell casters immediately at level 1 or only at the level that have access to spells? I would imagine only once they get spells, but I cannot seem to find the answer to this. If for some reason this is is a really easy to find spot, please point me in the right direction and commence laughing and pointing ;) The reason I ask this question is that I want to take a level in ranger for my rogue, for the obligatory two-weapon fighting. However, I also like to use wands with this character. Now, if Rangers are considered to be spell casters from level 1, then only one level will allow me to use wands (which have the spells from the ranger list on them) normally, without using magic device at a DC 20 each time. Am I making sense?

My thanks in advance for the replies.

Gregor
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Gregor said:
Are rangers considered to be spell casters immediately at level 1 or only at the level that have access to spells?

PH, page 45...

Through 3rd level, a ranger has no caster level. Starting at 4th level, a ranger’s caster level is one-half his class level.
 

That's pertinent to scrolls, but not to wands.

Wands don't require a caster level - they require a spell to be on your Class List.

A level 1 Ranger has a class list - he just can't cast anything off it.

-Hyp.

Edit: misused a preposition
 
Last edited:

Hypersmurf said:
A level 1 Ranger has a class list...

Personally, I don't think he does. He doesn't even have a caster level. He has no access to spells, thus no access to the spell list. A 3rd level fighter has no caster level and no spell list. Makes sense that the same goes for a 3rd level ranger. That's just my opinion though.
 

From the Main FAQ:

Can a 1st-level paladin or ranger use a wand of cure light
wounds? Or must the character have enough levels to
actually be a spellcaster.

The requirement for using a spell trigger item (such as a
wand) is having the spell stored in the item on your class spell
list, not having the ability to cast the spell (see page 175 in the
DUNGEON MASTER’s Guide). Since cure light wounds is on both
the paladin and ranger class spell lists, paladins or rangers of
any level can use wands of cure light wounds.


-Hyp.
 


kreynolds said:
Personally, I don't think he does. He doesn't even have a caster level. He has no access to spells, thus no access to the spell list. A 3rd level fighter has no caster level and no spell list. Makes sense that the same goes for a 3rd level ranger. That's just my opinion though.
The DMG, on page 175, under Spell Trigger, says a 3rd level paladin may use a wand with a spell that is on his spell list. I would assume the same goes for a 3rd level ranger.
 

Cheers!

Thanks very much for the prompt replies. I should take a look through that Main FAQ so that I refrain from posting questions which are easily found on the site.

My thanks again!
 

Dr. Zoom said:
The DMG, on page 175, under Spell Trigger, says a 3rd level paladin may use a wand with a spell that is on his spell list.

Interesting. I've never noticed that passage.

Dr. Zoom said:
I would assume the same goes for a 3rd level ranger.

So would I, if I had seen it. :D
 

Ah, another good reason to splash that one level of ranger. Thanks Hypersmurf.

Now if only I can justify taking a level of barbarian without looking like an idiot...
 

Remove ads

Top