Spell Concentration (not the skill) Question

Cloudgatherer

First Post
Hopefully this is an easy question...

Concentrating on a spell takes a standard action. The text describing concentration implies you cannot cast another spell while concentrating, but does this hold for quickened spells or if one is hasted?

I checked an old sage FAQ, didn't find anything in there, any definitive answers out there?

Thanks!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

"You cannot cast a spell while concentrating on another one."

That's a separate restriction from the standard-action-to-maintain one.

-Hyp.
 

"Concentration: The spell lasts as long as the character concentrates on it. Concentrating to maintain a spell is a standard action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity.

Anything that could break the character's concentration when casting a spell can also break the character's concentration while the character is maintaining one, causing the spell to end (see Concentration, below). The character can't cast a spell while concentrating on another one. Sometimes a spell lasts for a short time after the character ceases concentrating. In these cases, the spell keeps going for the stated length of time after the character stops concentrating. Otherwise, the character must concentrate to maintain the spell, but the character can't maintain it for more than a stated duration in any event."

As the discription says, "the character can't cast a spell while concentraing on another one." No if, ands, or's, or but's.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top