Spell Duration and Caster Death

Rhun

First Post
Is there a rule regarding the duration of a spell already cast and the death of its caster? For example, a 4th level cleric casts hold person, with a duration of 4 rounds. If that cleric is slain on round 2, does the spell A) continue until its original duration, or does it B) end with the caster's death?

I've looked and could not find a rule to support "B," but I wanted to double check with a post here. Thanks!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

AFAIK, spells run their complete duration whether the caster is live, dead, or other. There might be one or two spells that specifically call out that they end upon the death of the caster, but I can't think of any off-hand.
 

the Jester said:
AFAIK, spells run their complete duration whether the caster is live, dead, or other. There might be one or two spells that specifically call out that they end upon the death of the caster, but I can't think of any off-hand.


Well, I know that anything that requires concentration would obviously end, but I just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing a rule somewhere.
 



Unofficially, spells cast by BBEGs end when they die and the building collapses. If it's a PC caster who dies, the spell lingers on heroically. :)
-blarg
 

blargney the second said:
Unofficially, spells cast by BBEGs end when they die and the building collapses. If it's a PC caster who dies, the spell lingers on heroically. :)
-blarg

Sounds like an excellent house rule feat!
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top