D&D 5E Spell-like Abilities in 5e

chio_dip

First Post
Hi Forum.

In older editions some races had spell-like abilities. And I am not 100% sure, but I think that such effects were considered "magic", but you didn't have to use sometic or verbal components.

(not sure, but i remember somehting like that)

I haven't played D&D in years, but a friend asked if I could GM a D&D 5e session. One of the players wants to play a Gnome, which has Natural Illusionist as a race feature.

So he can can cast Minor Illusion as often as he wants. But are the components necessary or not? Minor illusions needs a somatic component and a bit of fleece as material component.

So i am not sure if the components are required. Because it sounds like a spell-like ability to me, but i know that this player will use it A LOT if he can do it without moving or having fleece.

Thanks for your answer.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Most innate spells say in their description, "No material components needed." That's not a standard rule, but a specific rule depending on their creature.
 

From the Monster Manual.
Innate Spellcasting
A monster with the innate ability to cast spells has the Innate Spellcasting special trait.
Unless noted otherwise, an innate spell of 1st level or higher is always cast at its lowest possible level and can’t be cast at a higher level. If a monster has a cantrip where its level matters and no level is given, use the monster’s challenge rating.

An innate spell can have special rules or restrictions.
For example, a drow mage can innately cast the levitate spell, but the spell has a “self only” restriction, which means that the spell affects only the drow mage.

A monster’s innate spells can’t be swapped out with other spells. If a monster’s innate spells don’t require attack rolls, no attack bonus is given for them.

So I presume it requires the listed components unless it states it doesn't. (Which is quite common for material components, and occasionally for other components)
Remember that material components are not consumed by a spell unless the spell specifies they are.
 

Remove ads

Top