spell-like abilities times per day - question

Theo R Cwithin

I cast "Baconstorm!"
For a creature with multiple spell-like abilities, does the "times per day" pertain to each one, or any combination of them?

For example, a grig has spell-like abilities:
3/day—disguise self, entangle (DC 13), invisibility (self only), pyrotechnics (DC 14), ventriloquism (DC 13).
Does this mean it can:

(A) use disguise self 3x per day, entangle 3x per day, invis 3x per day, etc? OR

(B) use any combo of three of these abilities in one day. For example, only invis x2 and entangle x1 on monday; ventro x3 on tuesday; disguise x1, pyro x1, ventro x1 on wednesday; etc
 

log in or register to remove this ad




Thanks for the responses so far. One of each! :)

I'd always assumed (A) as well. But then looking at the grig (CR 1), that gives it an awful lot of magical firepower. So now I'm wondering if (B) is actually the correct interpretation.

I haven't been able to track down a definite answer on this, though. RAW hasn't been much help! Any other opinions on the matter, or relevant links that might clear this up?
 


For a creature with multiple spell-like abilities, does the "times per day" pertain to each one, or any combination of them?

For example, a grig has spell-like abilities:
3/day—disguise self, entangle (DC 13), invisibility (self only), pyrotechnics (DC 14), ventriloquism (DC 13).
Does this mean it can:

(A) use disguise self 3x per day, entangle 3x per day, invis 3x per day, etc? OR

(B) use any combo of three of these abilities in one day. For example, only invis x2 and entangle x1 on monday; ventro x3 on tuesday; disguise x1, pyro x1, ventro x1 on wednesday; etc

I've always played it as A. Yes, it's a decent amount of magical firepowers, but a level 1 or 2 sorcerer is going to be tossing around a lot of spells/day at that level. I think it's described that way in some monster descriptors or books.
 

It is supposed to be "as written".

If it doesn't say use a combination (or include words like "or" to indicate that it is a choice, then it is a list and in this example it means 3/day "each".
 

Hmm, I've always played it as A aswell and I'm reasonably sure that it is aswell, however I can't find a passage in either the MM or the Rules Compendium that verivies it one way or the other.
But I agree that since it doesn't state any combination off, it's gotta be A.
 

Looks like the A's have it. That's how I've always played it, but I couldn't convince myself by reading the text for the first time in ages.

@irdeggman: Making the logical assumption of "ands" in the list is a very convincing argument, imho. Good call.

Thanks for the responses, all.
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top