Spell Resistance question

0-hr

Starship Cartographer
I did some digging on SR and found some interesting information... that kinda seems to conflict....

In the PHB:
"If your spell is being resisted by a creature with spell resistance, you must make a caster level check...."

That makes it sound like SR only applies if you are trying to resist... I.e. not a willing recipiant.

Now two paragraphs later it says: "A creature with spell resistance must voluntarily lower the resistance (a standard action) in order to be affected by a spell noted as harmless."

Now by that description it seems that in order to not make your healer make a Caster level check, you would have to spend a standard action to lower it... and that brings up the question that if you are under a Spell Resistance spell and you volunatarily lower it does that cancel the spell... and if it dosen't, what does it take to bring it back up?

And lastly, there isn't any problem with overcoming your own spell resistance is there (like if you have SR and want cast a spell on yourself)?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yes SR can be a Death Sentence if you need healing.
Ki Ryn said:
That makes it sound like SR only applies if you are trying to resist... I.e. not a willing recipiant.
It makes it sound like that might be possible The main rules governing spell resitance are clear that is not possible.

The spell remains in place even if the SR is lowered for a round.

Spell Resistance
Abjuration
Level: Clr 5, Magic 5, Protection 5
Components: V, S, DF
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: Touch
Target: Creature touched
Duration: 1 min./level
Saving Throw: Will negates (harmless)
Spell Resistance: Yes (harmless)

The creature gains spell resistance equal to 12 + your caster level.


Spell Resistance
Spell resistance is the extraordinary ability to avoid being affected by spells. (Some spells also grant spell resistance.)

To affect a creature that has spell resistance, a spellcaster must make a caster level check (1d20 + caster level) at least equal to the creature’s spell resistance. (The defender’s spell resistance is like an Armor Class against magical attacks.) If the caster fails the check, the spell doesn’t affect the creature. The possessor does not have to do anything special to use spell resistance. The creature need not even be aware of the threat for its spell resistance to operate.

Only spells and spell-like abilities are subject to spell resistance. Extraordinary and supernatural abilities (including enhancement bonuses on magic weapons) are not. A creature can have some abilities that are subject to spell resistance and some that are not. Even some spells ignore spell resistance; see When Spell Resistance Applies, below.

A creature can voluntarily lower its spell resistance. Doing so is a standard action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity. Once a creature lowers its resistance, it remains down until the creature’s next turn. At the beginning of the creature’s next turn, the creature’s spell resistance automatically returns unless the creature intentionally keeps it down (also a standard action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity).

A creature’s spell resistance never interferes with its own spells, items, or abilities.

A creature with spell resistance cannot impart this power to others by touching them or standing in their midst. Only the rarest of creatures and a few magic items have the ability to bestow spell resistance upon another.

Spell resistance does not stack. It overlaps.
 

Ki Ryn said:
And lastly, there isn't any problem with overcoming your own spell resistance is there (like if you have SR and want cast a spell on yourself)?

Because the magic is already inside the "barrier" (which obviously isn't based on physical location) created by SR? Because the caster knows his own defenses well enough to trivially punch through their holes? It seems like there could be a number of reasons why depending on your magical physics.

With the SR spell, you probably have the same ability to raise and lower your SR for the duration; just because you aren't using its bonus doesn't mean the spell ends.
 

Remove ads

Top