spell targetting and augmented subtypes

thorian said:
Is someone with the type “Dragon (augmented humanoid)” a valid target for an Enlarge Person spell or does the augmented subtype not enter into consideration for spell targeting?

No. He is a dragon. Not a humanoid.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

thorian said:
Is someone with the type “Dragon (augmented humanoid)” a valid target for an Enlarge Person spell or does the augmented subtype not enter into consideration for spell targeting?
From the SRD description of Enlarge Person:
srd said:
This spell causes instant growth of a humanoid creature...
So the question is, is a creature of type Dragon (augmented humanoid) considered a "humanoid creature" for the purposes of Enlarge Person and other _______ Person spells.

I'd rule no. The creature is a Dragon. I wouldn't count subtype. Though I could see another DM ruling the other way.
 

Often, whether if that is a type or a subtype is irrelevant (unless, the spell is specifically saying "Humanoid Type". But still, "Augmented Humanoid" is different from "Humanoid". So as "Monstrous Humanoid".
 

Shin Okada said:
Often, whether if that is a type or a subtype is irrelevant (unless, the spell is specifically saying "Humanoid Type".
I disagree. Your type is what you are. Your subtype is the flavor of Type you are. One is a classification, one is a sub-classification. Granted, some things reference the sub-classification of a series of classifications (such as things affecting creatures with the (Fire) subtype,) but that doesn't make the distinction irrelevent.
But still, "Augmented Humanoid" is different from "Humanoid". So as "Monstrous Humanoid".
Very true.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top