Spellcasting Defensively from Prone

provik

First Post
I'm looking for any specific rulings or commentary from any of the official books or sources on spellcasting defensively from prone.

My leaning is to allow it, but to raise the DC of the Concentration check by +5 (so then 20 + Spell Level) for casting defensively from prone, but I would like to hear if anyone has any discussion or opinions on it or if someone has any official information on it.

Provik
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I highly doubt you will find any ‘specific rulings or commentary from any of the official books or sources’ on the subject because, by the RAW, there is nothing wrong with spellcasting defensively from prone. Personally, I wouldn’t even raise the DC, I’d just leave it 15+SL
 

Psimancer said:
[...]I wouldn’t even raise the DC, I’d just leave it 15+SL

Supporting Psimancer here.

There isn't any DC-raising for casting from a prone position.

But bear in mind that aiming a touch spell has (probably) a -4 penalty on attack rolls and that aiming a ranged touch spell [as ranged weapon] isn't (probably) possible. See Prone in the PHB Glossary (p. 311).

Kind regards
 

Scharlata said:
...But bear in mind that aiming a touch spell has (probably) a -4 penalty on attack rolls and that aiming a ranged touch spell [as ranged weapon] isn't (probably) possible...
SRD said:
Prone

The character is on the ground. An attacker who is prone has a -4 penalty on melee attack rolls and cannot use a ranged weapon (except for a crossbow). A defender who is prone gains a +4 bonus to Armor Class against ranged attacks, but takes a -4 penalty to AC against melee attacks.

Standing up is a move-equivalent action that provokes an attack of opportunity.
I do not feel that the list is exhaustive when I comes to missile attacks usable whilst prone. Using common sense, I would add the following weapons, all at zero penalty to hit: blowgun, splash weapons & ranged touch spells. They all would (of course) provoke AoOs...
 

I agree that the RAW say 15 + spell level.

I also agree that a touch spell cast from the ground comes with a -4.

However, I see no reason why you couldn't aim a ranged touch spell from the ground; it isn't a weapon, but merely treated a lot like a weapon. I would rule this is not one of the situations where you treat it like a weapon. Just makes sense to me that way. :)
 

the Jester said:
[...]However, I see no reason why you couldn't aim a ranged touch spell from the ground; it isn't a weapon, but merely treated a lot like a weapon. I would rule this is not one of the situations where you treat it like a weapon. Just makes sense to me that way. :)

I do the same IMC, but wanted to point it out. ;)

Kind regards
 

Remove ads

Top