SR: You don't have to lower it after all?

Stalker0

Legend
Pg. 177 of the 3.5 phb says emphasis mine:

"If your spell is being resisted by a creature with Spell resistance, you must make a caster level check...."

As resisting has a specific meaning in dnd, and you can voluntarily not resist spells, then for spells like cures can I just cast them on my SR'd ally without him having to take the standard action to lower it?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Page 298 of the DMG says, "A creature can voluntarily lower its spell resistance. Doing so is a standard action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity."

So, a creature with SR must make the special effort to lower it for spells it wants to affect it.
 

Ottergame said:
Page 298 of the DMG says, "A creature can voluntarily lower its spell resistance. Doing so is a standard action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity."

So, a creature with SR must make the special effort to lower it for spells it wants to affect it.

It only says that you can lower DM as a standard action. It doesn't say that you have to do this in order to receive a spell you don't want to resist. I think this works just like spells with saving throw (harmless).
 

KaeYoss said:
It only says that you can lower DM as a standard action. It doesn't say that you have to do this in order to receive a spell you don't want to resist. I think this works just like spells with saving throw (harmless).

Then what is the point of even mentioning it ?
 

Some people think it's funny to give someone with SR a small disadvantage.

E.g.: If they need a standard action to be healed in combat.
 

Someone with SR who wants to benefit from a spell has not to lower his SR, it is enough if the caster of the spell beats the SR, otherwise...loser.
And I think it is good as it is, if you want to be surely affected use a Standard Action to lower your SR for 1 round.
Just to mention it, SR never interferes with your own spell casting.
 

Either way, I'm ruling that you have to lower spell resistance with anything that has a saving throw, whether it says harmless or not, that way, I don't have to charge +1 LA for SR, because it's really not worth it, but as it stands, it's too good to give for free.
 

KaeYoss said:
It only says that you can lower DM as a standard action. It doesn't say that you have to do this in order to receive a spell you don't want to resist. I think this works just like spells with saving throw (harmless).

I don't think you are correct. The DMG (pg.298) specifically says that a "creature's spell resistance does never interferes with its own spell, items, or abilities." That statement would be completely unnecessary if the use of SR was dependent on its possessor's intent.
 

Count Arioch the 28t said:
Either way, I'm ruling that you have to lower spell resistance with anything that has a saving throw, whether it says harmless or not, that way, I don't have to charge +1 LA for SR, because it's really not worth it, but as it stands, it's too good to give for free.
+1 level for SR? Under what circumstances would you do this? If SR was granted as part of a class feature, or by an item? When the spell is cast?

I can't imagine any other circumstances for this, because I would imagine that a class with SR built in would have already figured that into any LA that might be needed.
 


Remove ads

Top