Start of Turn action ordering...

Taed

First Post
I haven't found any errata or clarification on the ordering of Start of Turn actions. I remember reading here about a year ago that the player was free to reorder damage and regeneration, typically taking regeneration first to avoid unconsciousness.

My situation I'd like to reorder is the Warden Font of Life feature, which I want to order after the Start of Turn ongoing damage for one uncommon reason: Armor of Sudden Recovery. Due to that, I would rather take the damage (thus activating the armor) and then have the saving throw against it (so that I don't take the damage the following turn).

If there were errata saying that a player can reorder the Start of Turn actions as they wish, then that would be fine.

The feature description is: "At the start of your turn, you can make a saving throw against one effect that a save can end. On a save, the effect immediately ends, preventing it from affecting you on your current turn. ... If you save against ongoing damage, you avoid taking the damage."

So, is there some official clarification on the ordering of Start of Turn actions?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I haven't found any errata or clarification on the ordering of Start of Turn actions. I remember reading here about a year ago that the player was free to reorder damage and regeneration, typically taking regeneration first to avoid unconsciousness.

My situation I'd like to reorder is the Warden Font of Life feature, which I want to order after the Start of Turn ongoing damage for one uncommon reason: Armor of Sudden Recovery. Due to that, I would rather take the damage (thus activating the armor) and then have the saving throw against it (so that I don't take the damage the following turn).

If there were errata saying that a player can reorder the Start of Turn actions as they wish, then that would be fine.

The feature description is: "At the start of your turn, you can make a saving throw against one effect that a save can end. On a save, the effect immediately ends, preventing it from affecting you on your current turn. ... If you save against ongoing damage, you avoid taking the damage."

So, is there some official clarification on the ordering of Start of Turn actions?

Yep, the last bullet point in the Rules Compendium on start of turn actions specifies that the acting player can perform them in any order they wish. The example they give is a player with ongoing damage and regeneration being allowed to choose to regenerate before taking ongoing. Works for the Warden class feature as well.
 


Remove ads

Top