Stone Shape Question

Perun

Mushroom
In our last session the guys had a discussion regarding the Stone Shape spell (I'm sure I'd have been involved in that discussion too, but I had to miss the whole session :)).

The characters went through a mini-dungeon, and eventually reached a set of large stone doors. Each wing was about 8 by 4 feet in size. The 5th-level wizard in the party, who had stone shape prepared, wanted to form a hole in the door with the spell.

And that's when the question popped. Can Stone Shape affect only a part of the object? The spell has its target listed as: "Stone or stone object, up to 10 cu. ft. + 1 cu.ft./level".

The DM ruled that the spell can only affect objects that coud entirely fit into the spell's defined target area (15 cu. ft. in this case), and I'd tend to agree with him, since nothing in the spell description hints at other possibilities.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I would allow it. It says stone or stone object, so you can either change an object within the given size limits, or a stone area, which can be part of a wall, for example.

Bye
Thanee
 

Perun said:
The DM ruled that the spell can only affect objects that coud entirely fit into the spell's defined target area (15 cu. ft. in this case), and I'd tend to agree with him, since nothing in the spell description hints at other possibilities.

Stone or stone object.

It can affect up to 15 cubic feet of stone, or a stone object up to 15 cubic feet in size.

Using Stone Shape to dig a 15 cubic foot hole out of a mountainside, for example, works just fine. Even though the mountain is much bigger than 15 cubic feet, you're only Shaping a small part of it.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top