Summon Monster I-IX and items...

Arravis

First Post
Do creatures summoned via Summon Monster come in with whatever items and treasure its wielding? For example, if a caster uses Summon Monster IX to bring in a Hezrou, does it come in with its weapons, magic items, etc? I've always figured that the CR of creatures also takes in the wise and intelligent use of whatever resources the creature has, including items. It would seem a bit unfair to deny them their own equipment. Mind you, by all this I don't mean to imply that the items would stay behind after the creature leaves or is defeated. It would make sense that they too would vanish, along with the summoned creature. Anyway, any opinions or suggestions on this would be most appreciated. Thanks guys!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

How I rule it: If it's in the creature's stat block, it comes along. If it's not in the creature's stat block, it doesn't.

I also allow a variant where a summoner can summon the same creature every time, with a penalty to replace it if the creature dies. In the variant, I allow the creature to be fully statted out, with whatever random treasure it might have.
 

Right, what LP said - if the item is included in the creature's stat block (like say a Bearded Devil's glaive), then the creature has that item when summoned. Additional swag, the kind of stuff that would be listed in the "Treasure:" field of a creature's stat block, would not come with unless you're casting a Calling (planar ally, planar binding) spell or using the varient rule Summoning Individual Monsters found in the DMG (p37).
 


Remove ads

Top