Summon Undead question

Doomhunter

First Post
I am using Libris Mortis, and I have read the Player's Guide to Faerûn eratta.

I am casting Summon Undead 4 to get a Large Ogre Zombie. Do I get 1 or 2?

Summon Undead 3 allows Large Zombies, so does Summon Undead 4 allow me to get 2?

The eratta limits me to an Undead with a max HD of my Caster Level +1, but is that total hit dice, or is each Zombie limited to 8 Hit Die?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

It seems to me that you could summon two large zombies.

The text of Libris Mortis's Summon Undead spells are, quite obviously, cut-and-pasted from Player's Guide to Faerun. So while I suppose a rules lawyer could argue that the PGtF errata wouldn't apply to LM, it seems sensible.

That said, the text of the PGtF errata says that the Summon Undead spells should have the following text: "No undead creature you summon can have more Hit Dice than your caster level +1."

Saying "no undead creature" makes it sound like, to me, you can summon multiple undead so long as each is under this provision, not the total undead Hit Dice summoned. Thus, a 7th level caster of Summon Undead IV using it to summon two large zombies could have them be two 8 Hit Die zombies.
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top