Summoning Questions, et. al.

Larcen

Explorer
Please help:

1) Do hitpoints provided by the Aid spell stack with multiple castings?

2) If so, can a summoned Lantern Archon continue to give you an Aid spell every round, increasing your hitpoint total higher and higher?

3) If a Lantern Archon created a Continual Flame for you every round, would they remain active when it left back to it's home plane?

4) If communication with a summoned creature were possible, can it be commanded to obey someone else for the duration of the spell?

5) If the summoner dies, do the creatures currently summoned disappear, or does the spell run it's course?

6) If it runs it's course, what will the Summoned creatures do from that point on?

7) If a person who has the Augment Summoning feat creates a wand of summoning, would the creatures summoned by that wand be augmented?

8) If a person who has the Augment Summoning feat summons creatures with less than 1 HD (e.g. 1/2 or 1/4 HD), will the creatures get any bonus hit points for the +4 CON?

Depending on the responses, more questions may be forthcoming... :)

Thanks!
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

1) Do hitpoints provided by the Aid spell stack with multiple castings?

-- As I understand it, temporary hit points from the same source don't stack.

2) If so, can a summoned Lantern Archon continue to give you an Aid spell every round, increasing your hitpoint total higher and higher?

-- No.

3) If a Lantern Archon created a Continual Flame for you every round, would they remain active when it left back to it's home plane?

-- Continuing effects from summoned creatures using spells, supernatural, or spell-like abilities are now specified to end when the summoning ends. This would logically extend to permanant effects as well. I suppose you could use Planar Ally or Binding to achieve the effect you want though. For a price.

4) If communication with a summoned creature were possible, can it be commanded to obey someone else for the duration of the spell?

-- I don't see why not.

5) If the summoner dies, do the creatures currently summoned disappear, or does the spell run it's course?

-- I see no reason why the spell wouldn't run its course. There's no blanket rule that specifies spell durations end with the death of the caster, nor is there a spell-specific rule that says that.

6) If it runs it's course, what will the Summoned creatures do from that point on?

-- Whatever it was last commanded to do. If intelligent it would probably seek to aid the caster however it could, or the caster's allies. If non intelligent it would merely guard the caster from further harm, and/or defend itself.

7) If a person who has the Augment Summoning feat creates a wand of summoning, would the creatures summoned by that wand be augmented?

-- Nope. Spells cast from wands do not benefit in any way from the crafter's stats or feats (except metamagic feats, if the wand is made with the corrospondingly higher spell level). I suppose a staff that summoned creatures might benefit from the *wielder's* Augment Summoning feat though. But not the crafter's.

8) If a person who has the Augment Summoning feat summons creatures with less than 1 HD (e.g. 1/2 or 1/4 HD), will the creatures get any bonus hit points for the +4 CON?

-- There are no "fractional" hit dice. All creatures have at least 1 hit dice. Even if the hit dice is smaller than usual, or has a modifier applied to it, the base number is still 1, and any bonus hit points from Con are computed with that in mind.

All answers are to the best of my knowledge. Hope this helps.
 

What he said but i'd just like to note that any effects except those that are instantaneous cast by a summoned creature end when the summoning ends. Ie something somoned could heal you and it would last but aid would end when it leaves. Or something that could cast wind walk or something to fly you would disappear at the ending of the spell duration and you'd do a not so fun fall.
 

To elaborate further on the Augment Summoning and Wand question, Augment Summoning is a [General] feat, not a [Metamagic] one. Since there aren't rules stating you can apply a feat to the creation of a wand, it can't be done outside of house rules.

If I were to house rule the use of [General] feats being applied to wands, I'd say that each relevant feat in the chain would count as +1 spell level. From that, I'd allow Augmented 1st through 3rd-level summoning spells to be put into a wand at +1 spell level.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top