Sunder as an AoO + mobility

Ovinomancer

No flips for you!
Had this happen to me in my last game session. I slip into the BBEG's threatened area to line up an attack for next turn. I have mobility + a high AC and could also take a hit or two so I figured I was safe. Well, the BBEG goes for a sunder attempt on my sword as his AoO, and I realize that by doing this he just nixed 2 of my feats (dodge and mobility) and a class feature (int to AC as dodge bonus). That seems an awfully good deal in this case, and seems OK by the RAW. Did I miss something, or is this right?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Ovinomancer said:
Had this happen to me in my last game session. I slip into the BBEG's threatened area to line up an attack for next turn. I have mobility + a high AC and could also take a hit or two so I figured I was safe. Well, the BBEG goes for a sunder attempt on my sword as his AoO, and I realize that by doing this he just nixed 2 of my feats (dodge and mobility) and a class feature (int to AC as dodge bonus). That seems an awfully good deal in this case, and seems OK by the RAW. Did I miss something, or is this right?


Apparently this is correct as per the RAW. However I (and I've seen others here who implement a similar interpretation/House Rule) have ruled IMC that any bonuses that would apply to Touch AC (Size, Dex, Dodge, Deflection) also apply to the AC of carried or held objects subjected to Sunder attacks

Your situation is unusual... The usual rule for 'defending' held weapons is the opposed Attack Roll mechanic - which is fine for most applications. But if one were attempting to simply 'avoid' the Sunder attempt, rather than countering it through skill at arms - if you see my distinction, I'd allow a Player treat the sword as a 'held object' (AC = 10 + Dex + Dodge + Deflection) if desired...

Definitely House Rule territory, but Sunder is somewhat broken 'As Is'.

A'Mal
 

It depends if you're using Core Rules Sunder or FAQ Sunder.

According to the Core Rules, Sunder is a standard action, so you can't use it on an AoO (except for the special exception of an AoO provoked by drinking a potion, which is specifically allowed to target the potion instead of the opponent).

The FAQ decided to make up some weird and wonderful excuses to allow Sunder to be used once in an Attack or Charge action, one or more times in a Full Attack action, or as an AoO.

So just convince your DM to use Core Sunder instead of FAQ Sunder, and you won't need to worry about Sunder-on-AoOs...

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top