Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Sustain Provokes?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Hypersmurf" data-source="post: 4686452" data-attributes="member: 1656"><p>But using a ranged or area power provokes, whether that power requires a standard, move, minor, or even immediate action. Why would sustaining provoke on a standard action but no other action?</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>p271 and p290 state that using a ranged or area power provokes an OA; the only reference to 'attack' is p268.</p><p></p><p>So either a/ p268 is restating p271 and p290 using an alternative phrasing - the term 'area attack' is used to describe any area power, even utilities (p271 again, for example), so there's a case for "make an area attack" being synonymous with "use an area power"; or b/ p268 is defining an entirely separate circumstance under which an OA can be provoked.</p><p></p><p>Under a/, you provoke an OA when you use an area or ranged power. Under b/, you provoke an OA when you use an area or ranged power; also, when you make an area attack; also, when you make a ranged attack.</p><p></p><p>When I made that post, I was firmly in the a/ camp; since then, I've had conversation with CustServ where they indicated that b/ is the intention - using a ranged power provokes, making a ranged attack also provokes.</p><p></p><p>They said that the ranged attacks made in subsequent rounds after sustaining Flaming Sphere and Spiritual Weapon provoke; I also put the Freezing Cloud question to them:</p><p></p><p><strong>Q: So if a wizard uses Freezing Cloud (an area power), and some time before his next turn, a creature enters the cloud, the creature 'is subject to another attack'. This is an area attack that the wizard's player rolls - does the wizard provoke an OA when the creature enters the cloud?</strong></p><p></p><p><em>A: That is the way the power is worded, I am not sure if that was the intent since it does not say that you make another attack. I’ve passed along this conversation to the game’s developers. Hopefully, we’ll see an update or FAQ entry covering it soon, but until then it’s up to the campaign’s Dungeon Master to decide. The DM is always the final arbiter on how they want their campaign to run. Have fun!</em></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>But it's still an area attack that the wizard rolls for.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>1. You can only use an encounter power once per encounter.</p><p>2. When you activate the power, you've used it once.</p><p>3. If sustaining the power counts as using it, then the "once per encounter" rule will prevent you sustaining it...</p><p></p><p>-Hyp.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Hypersmurf, post: 4686452, member: 1656"] But using a ranged or area power provokes, whether that power requires a standard, move, minor, or even immediate action. Why would sustaining provoke on a standard action but no other action? p271 and p290 state that using a ranged or area power provokes an OA; the only reference to 'attack' is p268. So either a/ p268 is restating p271 and p290 using an alternative phrasing - the term 'area attack' is used to describe any area power, even utilities (p271 again, for example), so there's a case for "make an area attack" being synonymous with "use an area power"; or b/ p268 is defining an entirely separate circumstance under which an OA can be provoked. Under a/, you provoke an OA when you use an area or ranged power. Under b/, you provoke an OA when you use an area or ranged power; also, when you make an area attack; also, when you make a ranged attack. When I made that post, I was firmly in the a/ camp; since then, I've had conversation with CustServ where they indicated that b/ is the intention - using a ranged power provokes, making a ranged attack also provokes. They said that the ranged attacks made in subsequent rounds after sustaining Flaming Sphere and Spiritual Weapon provoke; I also put the Freezing Cloud question to them: [B]Q: So if a wizard uses Freezing Cloud (an area power), and some time before his next turn, a creature enters the cloud, the creature 'is subject to another attack'. This is an area attack that the wizard's player rolls - does the wizard provoke an OA when the creature enters the cloud?[/B] [I]A: That is the way the power is worded, I am not sure if that was the intent since it does not say that you make another attack. I’ve passed along this conversation to the game’s developers. Hopefully, we’ll see an update or FAQ entry covering it soon, but until then it’s up to the campaign’s Dungeon Master to decide. The DM is always the final arbiter on how they want their campaign to run. Have fun![/I] But it's still an area attack that the wizard rolls for. 1. You can only use an encounter power once per encounter. 2. When you activate the power, you've used it once. 3. If sustaining the power counts as using it, then the "once per encounter" rule will prevent you sustaining it... -Hyp. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Sustain Provokes?
Top