Swallow Whole and Shapechange

Gomez

First Post
This happened in our game last night and I was wondering what is your take on it.

Our wizard cast shapechange and turned into a Purple Worm. He then swallowed a stone golem. What happens when the shapechange expires or is dispelled? :confused:
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Could get very messy!

Wizard instantly changes back to normal form with a stone golem in his stomach - boom! Fort save or die, or maybe even no save if DM is of the rat bastard variety.

Alternatively, as the wizard shrinks back to normal size, what went down comes back up. Still might require some sort of Fort save as wizard vomits up a stone golem.

Bigwilly
 


Stone Golem with wizard-suit?

No, what I wanna know is what happens with a wizard with shapechange on is swallowed....and changes into something that wont fit. :P
 

Taloras said:
No, what I wanna know is what happens with a wizard with shapechange on is swallowed....and changes into something that wont fit. :P

I'd say that, in the spirit of other, similar body modification spells (enlarge person coming to mind), you can't turn into something that won't fit.

J
 

What if your normal body can't fit, but you shapechanged into something that can fit, and got swallowed? Like a Great Wyrm Dragon Wizard or something.
 

The (humanoid) wizard does not possess the Swallow Whole ability, the Golem would no longer be subject to it once the shapechange expired.

That being the case, my ad hoc ruling would be that the golem is adjacent to the wizard once the spell ends. Period.

I err in favor of game-logic rather than realism. YMMV.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top