Swapping metamagic spells for cure spells

Bullgrit

Adventurer
Say I (a cleric) have a 1st-level spell in a 2nd-level slot because of a metamagic feat. When I spontaneously cast a cure spell from that spell/slot, is it a cure light (1st level) or cure moderate (2nd level)?

Say the 1st-level spell is in a 2nd-level slot without a metamagic feat, just to have an extra 1st-level spell prepared. When I spontaneously cast a cure spell from that spell/slot, is it the light or moderate cure?

Thanks,

Bullgrit
Total Bullgrit
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The cleric can “lose” any prepared spell that is not a domain spell in order to cast any cure spell of the same spell level or lower

Looks like you'd be stuck with a cure light, unless it was a heightened spell.
 

Corsair said:
Looks like you'd be stuck with a cure light, unless it was a heightened spell.
Yeah.

I was looking to see if there was another phrasing elsewhere which might do the "right" thing, but no such luck.

Cheer, -- N
 


That's what I feared. I was hoping someone here had found or could find different information. That just doesn't seem right. It's kind of a disincentive for clerics using metamagic.

Am I the first player to build a cleric with a metamagic feat? I took Still Spell so I could cast bless and/or protection from evil with both weapon and shield in hand.

Bullgrit
Total Bullgrit
 


You should note that once you get to Cleric level 2 (BAB +1) it's a free action to draw or sheathe a weapon or shield (PHB 142).

Since you only need one free hand to cast a spell you could:

move and sheathe your weapon then cast your spell or the reverse cast then draw...

If you are already in the middle of the battle it's not always an option but usually you cast bless before charging in...
 

lud said:
You should note that once you get to Cleric level 2 (BAB +1) it's a free action to draw or sheathe a weapon or shield (PHB 142).

Since you only need one free hand to cast a spell you could:

move and sheathe your weapon then cast your spell or the reverse cast then draw...

If you are already in the middle of the battle it's not always an option but usually you cast bless before charging in...

Not exactly. With a BAB +1 or better, you can draw a weapon or ready or loose a shield as a free action while you are making a regular move. Sheathing a weapon is still always a move equivalent action.
 

Hejdun said:
Not exactly. With a BAB +1 or better, you can draw a weapon or ready or loose a shield as a free action while you are making a regular move. Sheathing a weapon is still always a move equivalent action.


Right and it is important to note that it is a "regular move" and not a move action and technically a 5 ft step is not a "regular move" either.

In fact the Rules Compendium changed the note text to say

"If you have a BAB of +1 or higher, you can combine this action with moving your speed. . . ."

The note is not contained under the "Sheathe weapon" action.
 

Remove ads

Top