Swimming questions

Chris Knapp

First Post
So the other day, we had an underwater encounter and I caught a bit of flak when my dwarven fighter didn't charge. I replied that I didn't know I could. My move of 5 only yielded a swim speed of 2 and the critter was 5 squares away.

I tried to find any rules that state you can't charge (or run) while swimming but they seem to be corner cases. My take is that running (i.e. sprinting) might be possible, but an actual charge seems silly. Now, creatures with a swim speed could certainly charge and run and it would make sense.

After discussing it, we came up with a few other what-if's. What if I charge while swimming and fail my athletics check. Does my charge technically not happen, thus my turn isn't over? Can I double-swim? Do I have to roll twice?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

DMG p.45 Aquatic Combat

Since you have to use the Athletics skill to move and not just moving I dont believe that you can charge.

And as per the rules as well unless you are using something from the Spear or Crossbow weapon groups you are -2 to hit.
 

Shifting specifically mentions movement modes, so my assumption is that it's kosher.

I'd probably end up ruling it as an Athletics vs AC stunt, myself.
 

Remove ads

Top