Switching hands in Combat and what effects a Golem?

Albert_Fish

First Post
ok..... am i right to assume that itsa free action to switch weapon hands in combat say if my primary weapon gets knocked away and i want to get a better Attack bonus? Or in my case, my vampire wants to drain on some attacks or hack with his sword on others.

Another question that has came up in my campaign. Is a Druid Shifter ( masters of the Wild) susceptible to the same spells.magic items that would adversely affect an iron golem ( assuming the Shifter is in Golem Form)? in particular such spells or items that might seperate the golem shell from the animating spirit (elemental)?
how can i successfully attack a shifter in such a form??
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Albert_Fish said:
ok..... am i right to assume that itsa free action to switch weapon hands in combat say if my primary weapon gets knocked away and i want to get a better Attack bonus?

It is 'not an action' at all. You do not actually switch hands. The first hand you attack with is considered your primaery hand, all other hands or attack forms (head butts, kicks, etc.) is considered off-hand attacks. Note that some attacks can only be performed as off-hand attacks. And this also presumes you have the Ambidexterity feat.
 

Albert_Fish said:
ok..... am i right to assume that itsa free action to switch weapon hands in combat say if my primary weapon gets knocked away and i want to get a better Attack bonus? Or in my case, my vampire wants to drain on some attacks or hack with his sword on others.

There is no "handednesss" in 3rd edition. You only have an off-hand when you use both of them in the same round, such as in a full-attack action. If you don't attack with both, you can use either one without penalty. For example, say I have a warhammer in my left hand and a shortsword in my right hand. In round 1, I attack with my shortsword. No biggie. However, here comes a skeleton. Since they only take half damage from piercing and slashing weapons, such as my shortsword, I would be better off using my warhammer. So, in round 2, I attack with my warhammer.

I suffered no penalties for doing this because 1) I didn't fight with two weapons, and 2) I don't have an off-hand, because of 1).

Make sense?
 
Last edited:

Actually, KReynolds, there is handedness in 3e. Ambidexterity, says "Normal: Without this feat, a character who uses his or her off hand suffers a -4 penalty to atack rolls, ability checks, and skill checks. For example, a right-handed character wielding a weapon with her left hand suffers a -4 penalty to attack rolls with that weapon."

I think what Albert is talking about is not attacking with the off hand, but rather moving a weapon from one hand to the other. I'd say that I would treat it like drawing a weapon, including all the special rules that entails. Personally I don't think either one should take a move equivalent action, but that's just me.

-The Souljourner
 

It should be a free action, but I am still inclined to treat it as drawing a weapon.

And, yes, there is handedness in 3e. Everybody has a dominant hand unless they are ambidexterous. The non-dominant hand is called your off hand. They even give you a slot on your character sheet labeled "Handedness". That is not just window dressing. It applies to whether or not your character takes a hefty penalty for using his off hand. That also determines which hand is your off hand.

Thank you have a nice day!
 

Remove ads

Top