Swordmage's Aegis of Shielding & Transposing Lunge

Maximilia

First Post
Hi, I've a couple questions here on behalf of our swordmage.

For Aegis of Shielding, can he only use that once per encounter? Not the marking part--but the instant interrupt to reduce damage part.

If that is the case, then does using Transposing Lunge instead of the Aegis of Shielding burn the Aegis of Shielding for that encounter?

Thank you.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Hi, there!

The Aegis of Shielding interrupt is At-Will; he can do that as many times as he wants per encounter - but, as always, he can only take one immediate action per round. So, he can only reduce damage to one ally per round, and if he uses something like Frost Backlash, he can't invoke his Aegis until his next turn.

Transposing Lunge is a fun add-on to the Aegis of Shielding. It can only be done once per encounter, period, but it doesn't prevent him from using his Aegis in the future. Note that, because it's an interrupt, he's teleporting the enemy away before the attack resolves, which means that his ally may take no damage at all.

-O
 

Thank you very much!

Which in your explanations I note that I've been doing something wrong and will be nerfing myself with this very slightly, but that's quite alright.

And we had the argument with the DM of whether teleporting immediate interrupts (Transposing Lunge in his case, Wizard's Escape in mine) negate the attack and thankfully it does. Now to convince the DM it works that way. Thank you guys bunches!
 
Last edited:

In some more words: the damage reduction part of the aegis of shielding power can be used once/round. That is, he can use it once in between every time his initiative comes up. This allows him to act as a defender (once per encoutner would suck enormously).

As for Transposing Lunge, let's look at the exact wording:
Aegis of Shielding: When you use your aegis of shielding immediate interrupt, you can use this power against the target as part of the interrupt, even if the target is beyond your reach.
The important part here is 'as part of the interrupt'; this means that, once/encounter, along with preventing damage, the swordmage can use Transposing Lunge. It's not an either/or situation, he can do both at the same time.

Also note that, given that this happens as an interrupt and Transposing Lunge teleports if you hit the enemy, their attack will miss if you teleport them out of reach of their original target.

EDIT: Ninja'ed
 

In some more words: the damage reduction part of the aegis of shielding power can be used once/round. That is, he can use it once in between every time his initiative comes up. This allows him to act as a defender (once per encoutner would suck enormously).
It... it does suck enormously.

As for Transposing Lunge, let's look at the exact wording:

The important part here is 'as part of the interrupt'; this means that, once/encounter, along with preventing damage, the swordmage can use Transposing Lunge. It's not an either/or situation, he can do both at the same time.

Also note that, given that this happens as an interrupt and Transposing Lunge teleports if you hit the enemy, their attack will miss if you teleport them out of reach of their original target.

EDIT: Ninja'ed

Yeah. I had looked around for rules on teleporting immediate interrupts and found exactly what I needed. I couldn't find anything on the Aegis Shield though, and thought I'd ask for our swordmage.

Also, you guys are GREAT. I am SO going to come here every time I have a question now. :D
 


My DM thinks that when you use Transposing Lunge, the opponent should be able to redirect the attack to attack the Swordmage instead. Comments?

You can't retro-actively change your target for attacks. See PHB1 P269 the shaded box 'making an attack'. The monster has already done step 2 it can't go back unless a power/etc. says explicitly it can.
 

Remove ads

Top