TangleWING bag???


log in or register to remove this ad

Re: Did someone say Munchkin Rules Monkey?

Tom Cashel said:


"Tarrasques"? "Tarrasques"?!?

Is that the PLURAL form I see? I'd like to point out that, "by the rules," there is only ONE Tarrasque.

(;) to everyone but Forrester)

Also, I don't think it sets a "dangerous precedent" if a given action only works upon rolling a natural 20.

Only a munchkin rules lawyer would bring up the fact that there's only one Tarrasque . . . SUPPOSEDLY. :p

My guess is that that's probably correct, though. All the others died of starvation -- I mean, look at his frickin' movement rate. And you can see and hear him coming from a mile away.

-----------
*mocks campaign name of Tom Cashels: "Aerunedar"
Couldn't you squeeze more vowels in there?
How about "Aeruunaed'aer"? Doesn't that look better? :D
 
Last edited:

Re: Re: Did someone say Munchkin Rules Monkey?

Forrester said:

*mocks campaign name of Tom Cashels: "Aerunedar"
Couldn't you squeeze more vowels in there?
How about "Aeruunaed'aer"? Doesn't that look better? :D

No, because I just took the words for "gold" and "home" from Ed Greenwood's Dwarves Deep and smushed them together.

'Cause I'm obviously a FR-playing Munchkin Rules Monkey. ;)
 

Bottom line - if this dragon was adult or larger, chances are your PC's have no leg to stand on.

Yes, Henry, it was an adult Green Dragon.

And that was my opinion as well, but obviously it doesn't matter, since Tiamat herself will decide at the meeting.

I think research will show that Dragons, especially adult ones, fear Tanglefoot Bags very little, and that Tiamat ate the hatchling reckless enough to bring it up at the annual meeting. Elves aren't filling enough, apparently :D

EDIT: I'm also pretty sure the movement-halving ability of the Bag comes from the fact that it glues the target to the floor. Hence a flying target cannot really be affected.
 
Last edited:

Aside from reducing the dragon's attacks and penalizing its Dexterity, there should be no effect. The PHB clearly states that the "stuck" factor (as opposed to "entangled") only applies if the bag's contents can adhere to the floor. Since the dragon is flying, this doesn't even apply.
 

Furn_Darkside said:


No, it doesn't. You just make it clear at the moment- that it is a cool idea, and you (the dm) will allow it to work this time, but it will not work in the future.

That's hardly fair, I think.

Oh no. Please no. Don't have the Badd Boys be mad at me.. oh, how will I sleep tonight?

:rolleyes: :D

FD

*writes a name down in a notebook*

Indeed....
 
Last edited:

(The following is IMHO and IMC, beware)

I think a little movement rate, or flight maneuverability was reduced, at the very most. It Made It's Save.

If it had failed it's save, it'd been equally cool if the dragon had slammed into a branch, or just Glided off, or simply started climbing the tree with claws and Very PO'ed.

Imagine the dragon having glided off, then later as the PCs are still climbing, and far above them, stuff is falling on them, creatures in the tree are attacking them; the Dragon pulling it's connections with the other creatures to 'Get It's Mojo back' from being humiliated.

Let the players have a moment of triumph, even if it won't kill the dragon at all. Infact, it'll come back to bite them on the bottom.

Besides, if you think about a tanglefoot bag, if it didn't hit the wing, then it hit the head (gluing the mouth shut?), or one of the legs, making it unable to be used in a clawing motion, since called shots don't work.

As to the Barbarian getting shot in the eye... It could've been a glancing blow. Or it hit him in the *side* of the skull, piercing through the eye socket, but not an insta-death. Being someone who is missing an eye, you don't have to go at the front of the eye, to get it. ;)
 

Maybe you just need to change all the dragons in your world into tremendous wusses (who are broke). "You sneeze on the ancient red, his head jerks back, he stumbles and collapses. You find 10 coppers."

To original questions: there is no dead dragon, just a very angry one.
 

Apply the standard penalties for being ensnared by a tanglefoot bag; -2 to attack rolls, -4 to Dex. Ignore the parts about being stuck the floor.

I see nothing unfair with the ruling - you warned the players ahead of time it was not going to work. Ingenious or not.
 
Last edited:

Henry said:
You are walking down the street when someone spits a freshly chewed wad of bubble gum on you. Does it constrict your movement in any way?

Yes, because I'm going to stop to beat the living &$*# out of whomever just spit bubble gum on me.

Or is that not what you meant? :D
 

Remove ads

Top