I reckon that is a pretty lame accusation to make. Sloppy and unnecessary.Beginning of the End said:(re: Hyp) 1. You rewrite what the rules say, but it's only a slight change so you hope nobody notices what you did.
I reckon that is a pretty lame accusation to make. Sloppy and unnecessary.Beginning of the End said:(re: Hyp) 1. You rewrite what the rules say, but it's only a slight change so you hope nobody notices what you did.
I'm paying enough attention to note footnote 7 is still absent from Sunder in table 8-2.Fifth Element said:See above post. Please pay attention.
The table is not ignored. A melee attack is included as a standard action on the table. So is sunder, because sunder is a melee attack. It's not an action that grants a sunder attempt, but the name that you call a melee attack against an opponent's weapon or shield, which has some special rules.
The footnote isn't required, based on my interpretation. Please read it again if you're still missing that.Legildur said:I'm paying enough attention to note footnote 7 is still absent from Sunder in table 8-2.
That's not what the description of sunder says. It says YOU use a melee attack to sunder. It does not say that sunder uses a melee attack.Legildur said:Sunder USES a melee attack to resolve the special attack. It is not a melee attack in itself.
I disagree with this. It says that you use a melee attack to sunder. The phrasing "as a melee attack" implies an action that replaces a melee attack. The sunder description implies that it is a use of a melee attack, not a replacement for one.Beginning of the End said:2. It contains the phrase "use a melee attack" -- which looks a lot like "as a melee attack", "in place of a melee attack", and "make a melee attack", but looks absolutely nothing like "using a standard action", "requires a standard action", or "as a standard action".
Fifth Element said:IThe phrasing "as a melee attack" implies an action that replaces a melee attack. The sunder description implies that it is a use of a melee attack, not a replacement for one.
Fifth Element said:The footnote isn't required, based on my interpretation. Please read it again if you're still missing that.
Inadequate for what exactly?Caliban said:What you are missing is that your interpretation is inadequate. kthxbye
I phrased it badly. The text does not imply that you use a melee attack to sunder. It states plainly that you use a melee attack to sunder. Those are the words used. "You can use a melee attack...", not "you can use a melee attack action...".Deset Gled said:The text is implicit. The table is explicit.
Fifth Element said:Inadequate for what exactly?
Fifth Element said:It is therefore open to interpretation.