Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
NOW LIVE! Today's the day you meet your new best friend. You don’t have to leave Wolfy behind... In 'Pets & Sidekicks' your companions level up with you!
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Thief Rogue / True Strike
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Eric Olson1" data-source="post: 9470163" data-attributes="member: 6975382"><p>I think your are reading the requirement backwards (Masked-man fallacy).</p><p>We know the magic action now has 3 distinct sub-type types. (much like the attack action)</p><p>1) you cast a spell OR</p><p>2) you use a feature that requires a magic action to be activated OR</p><p>3) you use a magic item that requires a magic action to be activated</p><p></p><p>Thief Fast Hands lets you do (3) as a bonus action:</p><p> "take the Magic action to use a magic item that requires that action" ["that action"="the Magic action"]</p><p>This clearly applies to (3), but not (1) or (2). </p><p></p><p>Nowhere in scroll does it say it requires the magic action. It does says that you both "read the scroll" AND "cast the spell" using the spell's normal casting time. So you cannot separate these events. </p><p></p><p>Furthermore, multiple people cannot read the scroll (unless this is specified as part of the scroll):</p><p>"<em>Spell Scrolls </em>and some other magic items contain spells that can be<strong> cast</strong> without a spell slot. The description of such an item <em>specifies how many times</em> a spell can be cast from it." Since the text for scroll creation describe the process as a spell casting transfer, there is no reason to assume more than once.</p><p></p><p>So is reading a scroll considered casting a spell? (or using a magic device?) The description of casting a spell in chapter 7 tells us:</p><p> "Before you can cast a spell, you must have the spell prepared in your mind or have access to the spell from a magic item, such as a <em>Spell Scroll."</em></p><p></p><p>At least for 2024, a DM reading the rule can easily rule that reading a scroll enables one to cast a spell that is not prepared in your mind.</p><p></p><p>When you compare the scroll description to the D&D beyond 2024 magic items from Uni-horn, every single magic power item begins with this text "As a <a href="https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dnd/free-rules/rules-glossary#MagicAction" target="_blank">Magic</a> action, you can ......" </p><p>There is one item that is distinctly different: "This Mace has 6 charges and regains 1d6 expended charges daily at dawn. While holding the Mace, you can expend 1 of its charges to cast <a href="https://www.dndbeyond.com/spells/2619108-summon-celestial" target="_blank">Summon Celestial</a> ". It doe NOT say 'as a magic action ...."; it says you can use a charge to cast. The hat is similar but weird </p><p>The scroll description is written the same way -- it uses the word "cast" not "as a magic action".</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Eric Olson1, post: 9470163, member: 6975382"] I think your are reading the requirement backwards (Masked-man fallacy). We know the magic action now has 3 distinct sub-type types. (much like the attack action) 1) you cast a spell OR 2) you use a feature that requires a magic action to be activated OR 3) you use a magic item that requires a magic action to be activated Thief Fast Hands lets you do (3) as a bonus action: "take the Magic action to use a magic item that requires that action" ["that action"="the Magic action"] This clearly applies to (3), but not (1) or (2). Nowhere in scroll does it say it requires the magic action. It does says that you both "read the scroll" AND "cast the spell" using the spell's normal casting time. So you cannot separate these events. Furthermore, multiple people cannot read the scroll (unless this is specified as part of the scroll): "[I]Spell Scrolls [/I]and some other magic items contain spells that can be[B] cast[/B] without a spell slot. The description of such an item [I]specifies how many times[/I] a spell can be cast from it." Since the text for scroll creation describe the process as a spell casting transfer, there is no reason to assume more than once. So is reading a scroll considered casting a spell? (or using a magic device?) The description of casting a spell in chapter 7 tells us: "Before you can cast a spell, you must have the spell prepared in your mind or have access to the spell from a magic item, such as a [I]Spell Scroll."[/I] At least for 2024, a DM reading the rule can easily rule that reading a scroll enables one to cast a spell that is not prepared in your mind. When you compare the scroll description to the D&D beyond 2024 magic items from Uni-horn, every single magic power item begins with this text "As a [URL='https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dnd/free-rules/rules-glossary#MagicAction']Magic[/URL] action, you can ......" There is one item that is distinctly different: "This Mace has 6 charges and regains 1d6 expended charges daily at dawn. While holding the Mace, you can expend 1 of its charges to cast [URL='https://www.dndbeyond.com/spells/2619108-summon-celestial']Summon Celestial[/URL] ". It doe NOT say 'as a magic action ...."; it says you can use a charge to cast. The hat is similar but weird The scroll description is written the same way -- it uses the word "cast" not "as a magic action". [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Thief Rogue / True Strike
Top