Toothed Tentacle

ExMachina

First Post
Hey all,

I'm trying to find out if there has been an official ruling or consensus on the Lost Empires of Faerun spell, Toothed Tentacle. The description does not say if SR applies or if the spell counts as a magic weapon for the purposes of damage reduction. Any thoughts on this would be helpful...
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Damage Reduction does not apply to damage from spells. So I think Toothed Tentacle damage would ignore any DR.
 
Last edited:

It is my understanding that SR does not apply if there is no SR entry (as is often the case for Personal range spells). So as written I do not think the Toothed Tentacle spell would be subject to SR.
 
Last edited:

True...but the argument has been that it is a physical manifestation (since the 'heads' can be killed). But then again, it isn't a conjuration spell as one would expect, but instead it is evocation...so if it is a spell effect, then shouldn't SR apply?


The GM and I have been trying to come to a happy medium on this, but it is a very powerful 2nd level spell as is. Allowing it to be both a magical physical weapon ignoring SR with 3 2d6 attacks and an attack bonus based on int + level is pretty tough. Not that I mind, gives my Wiz one hell of a melee punch.
 

As far as I can see as written the spell does not allow either SR or DR (of any kind) to apply. This does make it a bit strong for 2nd level spell.

If you wanted to tone it down allowing SR to apply would be the best alterative IMO. Allowing DR to apply would IMO create to many other issues with other spells where players would be unsure if DR should or would apply to a spell's effect. While allowing SR to apply would I think be a fix that has an effect limited to the Toothed Tentacle spell.
 

Enchanted Trinkets Complete

Recent & Upcoming Releases

Remove ads

Top