Touch spell on illusions


log in or register to remove this ad

If it's a Shadow, yes. If it's an illusion covering something real - like, say, Change Self, yes.

Otherwise - if there's no substance to it - my answer is no.

But then, I say a Magic Missile can't target a Mirror Image, so you can't necessarily trust me :)

-Hyp.
 

Heh. Just had a mental image of the cleric casting Inflict Critical Wounds and making a touch attack on a Major Image, which the invisible BBEG Illusionist causes to 'act appropriately' - keel over and die... and the cleric, not realising his spell hasn't discharged, claps his buddy on the back.

"Job well done, eh Regdar? ... Regdar?"

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Heh. Just had a mental image of the cleric casting Inflict Critical Wounds and making a touch attack on a Major Image, which the invisible BBEG Illusionist causes to 'act appropriately' - keel over and die... and the cleric, not realising his spell hasn't discharged, claps his buddy on the back.
-Hyp.

:D

I agree. Glamers don't discharge touch spells, but if you touch a legit. target for a touch spell, it's discharged.

I'd rule that touching a mirror image with a touch spell gets rid of the image without discharging the touch spell, probably, although I'd need to reread the spell to make sure about this.

As an aside, in most cases I figure that any attempt to attack a glamer provides a Will save for the attacker. A successful save means the attacker hit the illusion and realized it's fake; a failed save indicates the spellcaster successfully made the illusion dodge the attack. This is much easier than trying to figure out an AC for an illusion, and it cuts down on dice rolls.

Daniel
 

I'd rule that touching a mirror image with a touch spell gets rid of the image without discharging the touch spell, probably, although I'd need to reread the spell to make sure about this.

That's what I'd say. It's the touch that disrupts the image, not the spell.

-Hyp.
 

karooba said:
So, if a touch spell such as Harm is used on an illusion, is the charge used up?

The Sage seems to think so, and I have to agree with him...

In relation to #1, if a spellcaster with shocking grasp cast hits a mirror image, is the charge lost.

Yes.

Many feel that since nothing was actually touched the charge remains.

You did touch something--the image.

Others feel that if the caster believes he touched something then the charge is wasted, a la #1.

Belief has nothing to to do with it. If you're tricked into touching the wrong thing, the spell is gone.
 



Re: Re: Touch spell on illusions

The Sage seems to think so, and I have to agree with him...

Illusions can, among other things, "cause people to see things which are not there", which seems to define a figment fairly well.

If it's not there, how can it be touched?

Does a moonbeam discharge a touch spell? Can a touch spell be cast underwater?

-Hyp.
 

Re: Re: Re: Touch spell on illusions

Hypersmurf said:
If it's not there, how can it be touched?

If you're going down this road, then particles in the air will discharge the spell as well. As far as you're concerned, the figment is "there".
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top