Touch spells: were they always like this?

We've had some confusion over Chill Touch in our games. It is an instantaneous touch attack spell but says the caster gets 1 attack per caster level. So does a 10th level wizard get to make 10 touch attacks in a round? Or does his hand hold the magic indefinately until he has made 10 touch attacks?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

XO said:
Touch attacks were house-ruled to shieldless / armorless in all but the most hermetic campaigns in 1E. Translation: only stupid DMs with a total lack of consideration did anything else.

Might be better to say that touch attacks were hr'ed in YOUR 1e campaigns, as I never, ever saw anyone do this. In fact, I think that "stupid dms" quote is borderline offensive. I was not a stupid dm with a total lack of consideration, and I did something else.

Your way of playing the game is not necessarily the right way for everyone else.
 

XO said:
Touch attacks were house-ruled to shieldless / armorless in all but the most hermetic campaigns in 1E. Translation: only stupid DMs with a total lack of consideration did anything else.

Sure you did. If you wanted to give harm spell wielding clerics extremely powerful characters and monsters served up on a silver platter, that is.
 

Whether or not a touch spell was wasted on a miss was not spelled out in the 1E rules, AFAIK. However, a "Sage Advice" column in the Dragon suggested that a touch spell that missed remained "on hands" as long as the character didn't do anything else (like casting another spell, wielding a weapon, etc). I have used this rule in my campaign for years, and at least for spells up to 5th level or so, this hasn't proved to be overpowering in practice. Once harm is in play, that might change things.

However, hitting the target's full AC was required.
 

I always assumed that if the attack misses, the spell is over (just like any other magical attack).

Note that the only place that states the need for an actual "to-hit" roll for a touch is in the description of cure (cause) light wounds (1E PHB, p. 43); everything else references back to there (basically).
 


Every group I played 1E/2E with house-ruled touch attacks as well. I want to say the usual ruling was that your shield counted, but your armor didn't (and magical bonuses applied as usual.)
 

Remove ads

Top