Touching allies.


log in or register to remove this ad

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Divine Reach is one:
Arcane Reach is another:
You realize of course that you can't claim the hypothesis as true to prove the hypothesis? Since we're debating Divine Reach, you can't make an assumption on Divine Reach and claim it as proof of your assumption on Divine Reach. :p

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Another, arguably, is any spell cast via Spectral Hand:
Well, the spectal hand itself is not Range: Touch, but it does deliver Range: Touch spells. I'd have to say that spectral hand really has no relevance in this discussion. It does not change the spell, but delivers it. I'd be interested in more discussion on this, though, if you want.

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Ruling so means...
Yes, I'm aware of what it means. And, specifically in the case for the OP what it doesn't mean.

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Finally, the rules don't say that Divine Reach makes touch spells into a ray spell. Ergo, it doesn't make them into ray spells. It makes them into touch spells wherein you can touch something from farther away.
It says that you can use touch spells on targets up to 30ft away. That explicitly changes the Range, does it not? So, how do you categorize the Range? I don't mean this to be snippy, just clarification-gathering, but I think you need to choose one of the following:

1. Range: Touch -- impossible as Touch spells have no range
2. Range: 30ft -- every spell usable at range has this format (or close, medium, long, etc.)
3. Range: Touch at 30ft (or Ranged Touch 30ft) -- brand new format, not specified in the Divine/Arcane Reach description and not explicitly supported anywhere

I can't see it being anything other than #2. #1 is clearly wrong. #3 is possibly, but I'd have to say it's a houserule and it has implications much like choosing #2.

I don't have my books at work, so can someone look up the text on Reach Spell? Does it say "ray"?
 


Infiniti2000 said:
You realize of course that you can't claim the hypothesis as true to prove the hypothesis?

I disagree. Divine Reach Spell includes all the rules necessary to adjudicate Divine Reach.

Similarly, one could try to argue that there are no Tumble checks in the game to allow you to tumble through a square occupied by an ally.

You would - rightly, I imagine - post the rules from Tumble which say exactly that.

This is no different.
 

Patryn said:
I disagree. Divine Reach Spell includes all the rules necessary to adjudicate Divine Reach.
If it did include all the rules, then we wouldn't be having this discussion. The fact is that it doesn't or that it isn't clear and therefore you can't make statements as if it did include the rules necessary or it was clear as proof. Okay, then, so read the paragraph on Divine Reach and after someone casts a spell (say CLW), what are the Target and Range lines? Relevant parts (except for targeting due to space) quoted once more for convenience.

SRD on Divine Reach said:
Divine Reach (Su)
A hierophant with this ability can use touch spells on targets up to 30 feet away. If the spell requires a melee touch attack, the hierophant must make a ranged touch attack instead. Divine reach can be selected a second time as a special ability, in which case the range increases to 60 feet.
SRD on CLW said:
Cure Light Wounds
Range: Touch
Target: Creature touched
SRD on Spell Descriptions said:
Range
A spell’s range indicates how far from you it can reach, as defined in the Range entry of the spell description. A spell’s range is the maximum distance from you that the spell’s effect can occur, as well as the maximum distance at which you can designate the spell’s point of origin. If any portion of the spell’s area would extend beyond this range, that area is wasted. Standard ranges include the following.

Touch
You must touch a creature or object to affect it. A touch spell that deals damage can score a critical hit just as a weapon can. A touch spell threatens a critical hit on a natural roll of 20 and deals double damage on a successful critical hit. Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets. You can touch as many willing targets as you can reach as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell.

Range Expressed in Feet
Some spells have no standard range category, just a range expressed in feet.

Note that unless you create a new Range category, you must choose one of the above, i.e. Touch or Range. If you choose Touch, obviously it would mean that the spell cannot be used at a distance. If you choose Range, like I do, well, then you agree with me.

If instead you decide not to identify the Range category, then the whole point is moot and the list of implications you outlined no longer apply because you're in houserule territory anyway (i.e. everything is undefined). So, my operating assumption is that you do not want to choose a Range category that is undefined.

Assuming that you choose a Range category of "Range expressed in Feet" (i.e. 30ft), then the Target must similarly change. It cannot be creature touched because that is not the Range. The only Target that has "ranged touch" is Ray.

(PS. I hope this post is coherent. :))
 

Infiniti2000 said:
Divine Reach (Su)
A hierophant with this ability can use touch spells on targets up to 30 feet away. If the spell requires a melee touch attack, the hierophant must make a ranged touch attack instead. Divine reach can be selected a second time as a special ability, in which case the range increases to 60 feet.

Notice that Divine Reach only requires the hierophant to make a ranged touch attack if the spell requires a melee touch attack. Cure Light Wounds cast on an ally does not; the spell only requires a melee touch attack when used on an enemy.

Assuming that you choose a Range category of "Range expressed in Feet" (i.e. 30ft), then the Target must similarly change. It cannot be creature touched because that is not the Range. The only Target that has "ranged touch" is Ray.

Acid Splash, Melf's Acid Arrow, and Produce Flame are three spells that spring to mind immediately that use a ranged touch mechanic without being Effect: Ray.

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top