Transubstantiation, critique please.

Thank you very much Pbartender and Nifft. I would usually reword it, so I wouldn't be simply stealing the spell, but I can't see anything wrong. So the changes I have made are just flavour or suggestion (from Nifft).

Now the spell is understandable what about the level, is that ok.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Ferret said:
Thank you very much Pbartender and Nifft. I would usually reword it, so I wouldn't be simply stealing the spell, but I can't see anything wrong.

Hey, don't worry about it. Just give us thanks in a footnote and remember us in your will.

Ferret said:
So the changes I have made are just flavour or suggestion (from Nifft).

Actually, Nifft's suggestion was already included in my description...

Nifft's: "...and are of roughly the same volume."

Mine: "...and the two objects must be approximately the same size."

Pick one or the other, it's redundant to have them both and will only cause arguements amongst rules lawyers.


As far as the level goes... Guh... You got me, I'd have to look harder and maybe play with it a bit. 5th level doesn't seem to be a bad start.
 

Thanks for spotting that, size and volume didn't registire as the same thing for some reason. I took out the size part as it looks more ambiguous then size.

I though it (5th) would be good base level, I'll try to play with it a bit.

Foot note did you say? Ok then, but I have no money for a will, nore am I old enough to have a will so :p .
 
Last edited:

Given that Fabricate is 5th, and will let you take the raw material and assemble it instantly, I'd say this is 4th - except that this can be used in conjunction with Fabricate to make such impossible structures as a blown-adamantite bottle or an ice flower.
 



Thanks Fruk.

Anabstercorian said:
Given that Fabricate is 5th, and will let you take the raw material and assemble it instantly, I'd say this is 4th - except that this can be used in conjunction with Fabricate to make such impossible structures as a blown-adamantite bottle or an ice flower.


I was going to ask why they are impossible, but then remembered that you can't make funky items with fabricate. It brings up the question of flowers and dead people etc. Would they not be affected (with the current wording) because they aren't objects? Because they aren't "primarily a single type of material"? Or does something need to be added?

I would like it if, say when you change a lump of ore and a wooden club, the clube becomes the ore. The ore isn't of one type, it would have impurities in it, but I would still liek it to be effected, possible under the wording, or should something be altered?
 

Ferret said:
I would like it if, say when you change a lump of ore and a wooden club, the clube becomes the ore. The ore isn't of one type, it would have impurities in it, but I would still liek it to be effected, possible under the wording, or should something be altered?

That's where 'primarily one material' and common sense comes in.

Technically, a dagger or a sword isn't all steel either... They might have a bit of leather or wood in that grip, and maybe a few jewels or precious metals for decoration. But I don't think anyone would argue that that invalidates the spell.

If you want it to be a little more unambiguous (or more ambiguous, depending on how you look at it ;) ), consider the wording for some of the special materials in the SRD...

"Any wooden or mostly wooden item (such as a bow, an arrow, or a spear) made from darkwood is considered a masterwork item and weighs only half as much as a normal wooden item of that type. Items not normally made of wood or only partially of wood (such as a battleaxe or a mace) either cannot be made from darkwood or do not gain any special benefit from being made of darkwood."

"Items not primarily of metal are not meaningfully affected by being partially made of mithral. (A longsword can be a mithral weapon, while a scythe cannot be.)"
 
Last edited:


Remove ads

Top