Trap the Soul

kreynolds said:


Where do you get that from?

It's a material component (unless I swapped the spells around...).

I'd presume that "consumed" means that, at the very least, it cannot be used in the same capacity from there on in. Whether that means that it vanishes into thin air, or is merely altered in some way doesn't matter much after that.

OTOH, if the material component can be re-used, then there's not much point for having a division between material components and foci, is there?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I think that the gem in "Trap the Soul" is a material component because, once used for a trapping, the gem cannot be reused for a trapping, as it is "occupied", unlike with foci, which can be reused in another casting.

However, it's generally accepted that where the spell text overrides the default behavior, the spell text is correct. In this case, Trap the Soul specifically states that the gem is not, in fact, consumed, in the sense of "poofed" or "eaten" (as is case with Spider Climb, where the component is literally consumed).

Therefore, the gem remains, apparently useable for other purposes that a gem could be used for (such as a lich's phylactery), although not for another Trap the Soul. If any of these other uses entail destructive modification, the spell covers what happens if the gem is destroyed: the trappee is released. Presumably, therefore, a diamond used as a trap the soul component is useable as a diamond again in another spell....although if that spell consumes the diamond, the diamond is destroyed with attendant consequences.

Well, it's definitely an interesting, and perhaps expensive, way of smuggling a person.
 

Saeviomagy said:
It's a material component (unless I swapped the spells around...).

I'd presume that "consumed" means that, at the very least, it cannot be used in the same capacity from there on in.

Wouldn't it have been easier to just say you're in the AuraSeer camp in regards to this? :) Besides, note that the gem is repeatedly called a gem, even in references after the spell would be cast.

Saeviomagy said:
OTOH, if the material component can be re-used, then there's not much point for having a division between material components and foci, is there?

Sure there is. This spell is just an exception to the rule, or should the mere existence of the Improved Unarmed Strike feat change the rules so that unarmed attacks never trigger AoOs, simply because the feat makes you an exception to the rule?
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top